Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

*Photoshop Transparency Help*
hat at 2:50PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 449
joined: 8-27-2006
I have it set to transparent when I make a new document, but the problem is I'm pasting an image from another program to work with (so the background is still white from the other program). How do you make a picture have a transparent background, working within photoshop.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:45PM
Darth Mongoose at 3:15PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(online)
posts: 488
joined: 1-7-2006
Make a new layer. create the image on that layer. Delete the ‘background’ layer, save as a .gif or .png.
That should work.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:08PM
hat at 3:24PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 449
joined: 8-27-2006
That doesn't work, the white's still on it (on each layer)
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:45PM
rengori at 3:24PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 196
joined: 3-10-2006
If you're saving as .gif, make sure the transparency box is checked, I didn't know about that for like a month.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:05PM
hat at 3:34PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 449
joined: 8-27-2006
You mean when making a new file? yea, I had that checked.
Here's an image of what I mean


I want that white part gone. I didn't make it in photoshop so the white is attached to it.

I'm using PS 7.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:45PM
carly_mizzou at 3:43PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(online)
posts: 383
joined: 8-25-2006
are you looking to only have black lines so you can color?

to do that:
1. paste you image onto a new layer.
2. ctrl L and adjust your levels so there isn't any gray
3. Go to your channels palatte, load channel as selection (bottom of palatte, little dotted line circle)
4. make sure your on your lines layer and hit delete.
5. on the layers palatte click preserve transparancy.
6. now on your lines layer you can color over your lines without coloring your transparent areas, to color create new layers behind your lines layers.
7. Go to town, baby!

hope that's helpful
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:36AM
acadia at 3:50PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 374
joined: 12-18-2006
Someone
are you looking to only have black lines so you can color?

to do that:
1. paste you image onto a new layer.
2. ctrl L and adjust your levels so there isn't any gray
3. Go to your channels palatte, load channel as selection (bottom of palatte, little dotted line circle)
4. make sure your on your lines layer and hit delete.
5. on the layers palatte click preserve transparancy.
6. now on your lines layer you can color over your lines without coloring your transparent areas, to color create new layers behind your lines layers.
7. Go to town, baby!

hope that's helpful

An alternate way (much easier) of doing that, while maintaining the smoothness of the lines is to put the layer with the lines (and white) above everything. Take that layer, set the blending options to ‘multiply’ and then color underneath it. The white wont show up as long as there is color underneath it.

last edited on July 14, 2011 10:45AM
hat at 3:59PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 449
joined: 8-27-2006
Awesome, I got it to work.
Thanks much, all of you.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:45PM
mykill at 11:18PM, Feb. 17, 2007
(online)
posts: 194
joined: 1-11-2006
Umm, the original photoshop tip was dead on. It didn't work because you didn't convert the image mode from index color to rgb.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:09PM
skoolmunkee at 11:30AM, Feb. 18, 2007
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
acadia
An alternate way (much easier) of doing that, while maintaining the smoothness of the lines is to put the layer with the lines (and white) above everything. Take that layer, set the blending options to ‘multiply’ and then color underneath it. The white wont show up as long as there is color underneath it.

The difference between your way and Carly's is that yours only works if you are looking to keep all your lines black and unmodified from the way you drew them.

Carly's method creates a layer of linework that is completely transparent except for the black areas - and those black areas have gradiations of transparency (depending on how much you adjusted the levels earlier). Carly's way is how people get colored outlines - on the transparent lines level, you can lock the transparency, and then paint on the lines to make them different colors or do different effects, without ruining the quality of line (which is preserved by the transparency lock).

I used to do it the multiply-layer way too, but although the alpha channel way requires a couple more steps, it's more flexible in the long run. :)
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:39PM
ozoneocean at 4:05PM, Feb. 19, 2007
(online)
posts: 24,789
joined: 1-2-2006
Sounds interesting… I do grey lines and set them to multiply, so they're always a bit faded out and tinted by whatever colour I use underneath. Sometimes I think it'd be better to get rid of my outlines entirely and simply paint over the top of them.

This channels idea does have serious merit for other styles of working though.
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:26PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved