Debate and Discussion

Apparently, stealing from webcomics is okay...
dragonsong12 at 2:55PM, April 9, 2007
(online)
I'm sorry, this may have been posted in another thread. I don't run through the forums enough to know for sure, but if not, I felt it needed to be.

I'm sure many of you have heard about the purple pussy vs Todd Goldman fight by now. Now I don't read Purple Pussy, and that particular comic doesn't really make me want to, but it's the principal of the thing. I mean that's blatant, and regardless of whatever the artwork is (not that I dislike the comic, it's just not one of my favs) that's no excuse for stealing. You can't even really give the “appropriation” argument as nothing has been changed or altered, there is no commentary. Cleary, you are supposed to belive that Goldman did this himself. (as stolen from the starslip crisis blog, I'm not good at ranting on my own XD) So I decided to spread the word even if I get slammed for it.

http://forums.somethingawful.com/showthread.php?threadid=2416213&perpage=40&pagenumber=1

If I had anything from David and Goliath, I would burn it as a show of solidarity. But I'm not about to go and hand my money over to him NOW.

last edited on July 14, 2011 12:16PM
Black_Kitty at 3:02PM, April 9, 2007
(online)
Yeah it's been posted in another thread~
http://www.drunkduck.com/community/view_topic.php?tid=28154&cid=226
I also posted about it in Comixpedia.

But yeah, this is not an example of appropriation. I know there have been people out there who talk about Andy Warhol's Campbell soup works and Lichtenstein's comic ones but those are not the same as what Goldman's doing. I may joke about appropriation but it's not a fancy term for stealing.

And no it's not a homage either.

last edited on July 14, 2011 11:24AM
Lace at 12:28PM, April 11, 2007
(online)