Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Beginning Drawer (what tool should I use?)
Vegejor at 11:58AM, April 11, 2011
(online)
Hey everyone,

Before I start I must point out I am an absolute noob regarding drawing on the pc. I mostly just used to draw images during class making fun off the teacher. They weren't incredibly good, but most people thought they were pretty funny.

I dunno what came next; stumbling upon DD or wanting to do something a bit more serious. Anyway it took me still over a year to get the courage to really start something. (am rather insecure ;p)

I believe I've got a nice character, a basic cast and a decent plot written out over the last two months.

That is when I hit a barrier; trying to draw something on the computer. I am really not tech savy and the only program I have available is ms paint. Which is not a program that suits me as it lacks… subtlety.

So not wanting to begin my comic with stick figures, but do it right the first time I have come to thou; what would be a good program for a beginning “artist” to use?

Everyone thanks in advance,
Vegejor
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:40PM
ShadowsMyst at 12:54PM, April 11, 2011
(online)
Hi Vegejor,

If you are genuinely serious about drawing directly on the computer, you are going to have to probably invest in either one of two things.

Option one is to get a digital tablet. Wacom is a popular and quality brand, although there are other tablets that you might find that are cheaper. If you want to work 100% digital, this is going to be an absolute necessity.

Option 2 is to buy a scanner, and draw your pages by hand, scan them in and fix/color them up in an appropriate digital program. You can do a little retouching with a mouse, but it requires more traditional pencil/ink and pen skills on paper. This is only if you don't want to learn the tablet.