Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

CALLING ALL SHADING EXPERTS!
Kinuchio at 6:06PM, May 8, 2007
(offline)
I need help, ya see, I just started my semi-first hand drawn comic. I got recent word of my shading being off by a mile. Can you take a look at this page and tell me exactly what's wrong with the shading?

{Note: I know that in some panels, I didn't shade. Namely, the second. I'm still new to this, remember?)

last edited on July 14, 2011 1:16PM
ozoneocean at 9:23PM, May 8, 2007
(online)
Looks great to me. Your style is really cool, what's the bother with shading?

last edited on July 14, 2011 2:26PM
Darth Mongoose at 2:30AM, May 9, 2007
(online)
I see nothing wrong with the shading. If you want a bolder, more dramatic effect, you could try making the shaded areas darker, so there's more contrast between the light and shadows. If you want to take things further, you could have two levels of shading, so there's a light shade, then a darker shade for heavily shadowed areas. Looks pretty decent to me though.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:08PM
Kinuchio at 9:00AM, May 9, 2007
(offline)
Thanks for the tip. It's just, I was told by this person that it was terrible, and he blasted all over my page.
silentkitty at 9:09AM, May 9, 2007
(offline)
I usually don't take people too seriously when they feel the need to say “THIS LOOKS HORRIBLE” and then don't give an explanation as to why. It looks fine to me, too. You may want to consider adding in some highlights to make things look a little more “rounded” (like on the tops of the bushes or in the character's hair), but other than that, I think it's fine.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:37PM
Darth Mongoose at 9:12AM, May 9, 2007
(online)