Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Comic or novel? Advice?
Bimbo_Zombie at 8:37PM, April 21, 2010
(online)
I have had the sudden realisation that there is something wrong with my comic.

I have been writing and re-writing this story for at least 10 years. I started it as a novel, then it became a webcomic. It has no fan base at all and I have never gone beyond the second chapter. I have come to the conclusion that I could take it back to a novel.

The story as a novel:
- I will actually be able to go beyond the second chapter after 10 years of writing it.
- I will actually get a fanbase. I don't see it reaching its target audience at all as a webcomic.
- I will actually get the story out, unlike my comic that I shit out one page every year or so.
- I have always wanted to be a writer and I find this story will do really well as a novel.
- I draw the characters a lot and am not sure how that will work in a novel.
- Just writing the story doesn't seem to be enough to express it in the way I want. I would like to use a lot of imagery and pictures to tell the story.

The story as a comic:
- Once again, I have never gone beyond the second chapter
- As soon as I get to the first page of the second chapter I have to reboot the entire comic and start over as the entire story has completely changed.
- The thumbnails are completely different from my script. The concept images are completely different from the thumbnails. And the final images are completely different from the concepts.
- It has been under hiatus many times. All hiatuses lasting a few months to two years.
- I design costumes and even what the character looks like as I am drawing them into the comic. For most of the characters I cannot see their clothing. Usually all I see is a hair colour and a gender. Sometimes I can hardly see the character at all, just their relationships within the story.