Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Concept to Comic: How do YOU do it?
LegalxDrug at 7:11PM, April 15, 2009
(offline)
Howdy!

I'm new on the webcomics scene, and i'm working on my first comic. I'm not going to go into details about the comic yet, (that would be a bit like advertising) but instead cut straight to the point of this topic. Seeing as i've never done this before, i'm looking for a “Small-step Plan” for getting my ideas onto paper, into the computer, and on the web. (this is a little similiar to “What do you make comics with?” But it's more focusing on the thought process behind the comic.)

This is what my guess is so far, cutting out obscure steps (I.E. coming up with ideas) and focusing on getting it to.. well, here.

1: Map out the framework for the story line. (to help keep things organized and goal oriented throughout the comic)
2: Draw up the frame layout you're thinking about using to portray your story, with stick figures or something else to mark what's happening. (kinda like story boards)
3: Draw each frame at full size, lay it out on a large area to make sure you like your layout. (I draw each individual frame in full size, because i'm not the best artist, and I find it easier to fit in greater detail. I understand that this is the UBER time consuming strategy. That's okay, that's part of why I like it.)
4: Scan work into computer. Digitally ink it, or other steps you might do at the digital phase. (Things like speech bubbles and such. You understand. If you ink things by hand, all the more power to you, i'm just not very good at it…)
5: Arrange the finished frames in the frame layout as you like.
6: Upload page. (I don't think this step needs to be here, but just in case you think i've forgotten.. :P)

If you have any tips for this process, or simply want to state your own, please do. I definantly want to take some lessons out of this.
Oh… My… God….
I found my mind!
It was in my hand the entire time!
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:34PM