Interviews

Genejoke interviews Evil_Hare of Jake the Evil Hare and Darkfell!
skoolmunkee at 9:45AM, Dec. 27, 2010
(offline)
This interview is of Evil Hare, whose comics are: Jake the Evil Hare and Darkfell!

(interview conducted by Genejoke!)

1.So first of all, Evil_Hare naturally the name comes from your comic, but can you give us a little insight to the man behind the Evil hare?

Well, I'm a small, muscular, ornery guy, but not as hairy as a rabbit. I've been an artist all my life, but went to college intending to go on to grad school and become some artsy professor type, but things just didn't work out that way. I've worked a lot of different kinds of jobs, and now find myself returning to my art.

I guess you could say I've got a permanent chip on my shoulder and a bit of a loner.

2, How would you describe your comic to potential new readers and why should they read it?

It's the story of a rabbit who really wants to be a hero, but is often led astray by his violent temper. You could say he's a likeable a**hole in story that starts out as a parody of the super hero genre but will evolve into a study of violence, corruption, and what it really takes to be a hero.

3, Is there some funky story behind the comics origin?

Yes! Many years ago there was some sort of contest in LA for animated shorts, and I kept trying to come up for ideas for it. The deadline passed, but I continued doing sketches of an evil-looking rabbit. There was ‘Drugs Bunny,’ a drug-dealing pimp rabbit, and a few others I won't mention, then I tried coming up with a badly behaved rabbit with a violent temper. I tried a bunch of names, but decided on Jake. The original story started with him going into a psychotic rage if someone called him a bunny, and one of the early strips had him beating someone to death for this offense and then being on the run because of it.