Interviews

Group 11 - xerjester interviews Strain42 of Persona 3 FTW, Raidou Kuzunoha the 19th, and others!
skoolmunkee at 1:28PM, Dec. 14, 2009
(offline)
This interview is of Strain42, whose comics are: Persona 3 FTW, Raidou Kuzunoha the 19th and others!
(interview conducted by xerjester!)

Well, first things first. Tell us a bit about yourself!

-My name is J.C. Scott, I'm 20 years old, graduated from Yokota High School in Japan in 2007. I've been reading and drawing comics since I was a little kid, currently I reside in Georgia where I work in a store called Comic World and I'll be attending college at ASU this spring.

Persona 3 FTW clocks in at almost 400 pages (as of this interview). Are you shooting for those kinds of numbers with Persona 4 FTW and Raidou Kuzunoha the 19th?

-As of right now, including stuff that isn't updated yet, Persona 3 is at 420 pages, I imagine it'll reach at least 500 by the end. Persona 4TW will probably have a similar amount and with Raidou, I honestly hope so. The FTW series runs on a time limit but Raidou I hope to keep going for many years

What can you tell new readers about Raidou Kuzunoha the 19th?

-Basically put, it's a bit of a crazy sitcom like story about a young high schooler who becomes a devil summoner, naturally he doesn't want that so hilarity ensues from there. I'm not very good at advertising stuff like this, but the story is a mix of both serious moments and humor.

Your work with MS Paint is pretty widely known at this point with your comics, but have you ever considered other mediums or programs?

-Honestly, I draw with MS Paint because it's my best option right now. I do have Photoshop, but no tablet or scanner. And attempting to draw in PS the same way I do in Paint actually looks worse if you can believe that. I hope that by the end of Chapter 5, Raidou will be done with a tablet and evolve out of the MS Paint format, but the Persona comics will always be done with Paint to keep the same cartoonish feel.