Debate and Discussion

Guns, a necessary evil?
Anonymous at 5:44AM, April 9, 2006
(offline)
Should guns only be reserved for the good guys? how do you stop guns being sold to anyone?
Apart from being a student i work part time for a bookies. Yesterday was the grand national, our busiest day of the year, and so instead of me being behind the safety screen i was on the shop floor, when two masked raiders came in with a gun and a sledge hammer and held me hostage while demanding money off the other staff. no one was hurt, but what should happen to the bastards who did this iff they get caught? We had been warning the police and our security that something like this was going to happen for weeks. Why didn't they listen? WHY THE FUCK DIDN'T THEY LISTEN? Would it have taken me to be shot for them to pay attention? will we get extra security now? Doubtable.
We have a security screen thats meant to protect us, Ladbrokes (the company i work for) cut a hole in this screen so that a card reading machine could be passed out to the customers. NB this is not a credit card machine this is a special ladbrokes account. Last year someone in the same shop put a sawn off shotgun through this hole and held the cashier up and took all the money.
This screen is meant to be there for our saftey against things like this and it was destroyed by a sledge hammer.
The flats above our shop our being demolished by the council and on the day we were due to have a security audit someone upstairs flooded the shop by not switching the water off when taking out a bath. The security officer came and did the audit while the shop was closed, and proclaimed it safe. ON WHAT BASIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!??????????????????? Arsehole.
so what do i do? do i accept this as something that will happen where i work or do i quit? I'm leaning towards the quiting as i only get £5.45 an our to get insulted abused and threatened by customers
last edited on July 14, 2011 10:53AM