angry_black_guy at 7:35AM, July 7, 2007
(offline)
Hand Drawn Comics Tutorial

TUTORIALS IN THIS SERIES

-Layout and Pencils (90% complete)
-Inking and Styles (90% complete)
-Hand Lettering (COMPLETE)
-Hand Coloring (90% complete)
-Scanning, Editing, Posting, Printing, and Book Binding (WIP)
-Mix n Match: Digital and Hand Work (WIP)

Introduction

In my opinion, nothing beats a good hand drawn comic. In this digital age, hand drawn comics are becoming more and more scarce and for good reason; you can do a lot more digitally than by hand. However, hand drawn comics have a certain appeal to them they're rougher, more unified, and feel like a whole, complete piece of art. In this series of tutorials, I'll be going over how to create a hand drawn comic as well as using your computer to edit a hand drawn comic for greater effect.

This tutorial is designed for beginner to intermediate artists and writers. I'm no expert by any means I'm just a hand drawn enthusiast who wishes to share his knowledge. This is a learning experience for me as well; if you see something that's wrong then by all means contact me and tell me what to fix. I don't want to look like an idiot here :D

Hand Lettering

Hand lettering is a dying skill. Digital lettering is quicker, allows for a wider range of fonts, and any mistakes can be fixed with a simple click of the DEL key. However, comic book fonts can be expensive (unless you get the generic free ones) and making your own personal font using a program is a very precise and difficult skill. Some people like the look of hand lettered comics because of the subtle difference in spacing and style as well as the fact that the lines match your own pen strokes. This is a guide to learning and practicing this dying art: hand lettering.

TOOLS YOU'LL NEED

-Ames Lettering Guide

-Technical pen/Fountain pen/Dip-Nib pen *

-Koh-I-Nor Ultra Draw Ink **

-Pigment Marker

-White paint/Correction pen

-Ellipse template ***