Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Help with panels
Maximilian207 at 7:25PM, May 14, 2007
(offline)
I'm pretty new to the web comic thing, but something I've always wanted to know is this: how does everyone do their panels? Is there a way to make good panels on the computer (say, in Photoshop?), or do most people hand draw them? I know there are many sprite comics and similar things that obviously use Photoshop, as the panels are just a big grid, which is not what I'm looking for at all. Thanks in advance for any help! :)
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:56PM
Darth Mongoose at 1:02AM, May 15, 2007
(online)
I draw mine by hand, but I have a little helper. My rotoring drawing board. Having clipped the paper onto that, the ruler clips on easily, and it has ruler markings on the edges as well, so measuring and drawing panels is really simple. I got mine as a hand-me-down from my dad (he used to do technical drawing for submarine building with it) but you can still buy (slightly modernised and improved) versions. They're a little pricey, but very handy.

The way some artists do it is to draw each panel on seperate paper, then make a frame of panels in photoshop or whatever, put the drawings on layers underneath and move them as desired.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:08PM
silentkitty at 8:34AM, May 15, 2007
(offline)
Well, when I'm not working digitally, I just get an art board and slap a ruler down on top of it. lol! Nothing really technical about it.