Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Help with some line art
korina at 11:40AM, Aug. 25, 2007
(offline)
posts: 10
joined: 8-8-2007
I have some line art. It's black and white, and I was wondering if there is a way to make the white background transparent.

I can't figure it out and I'm at the end of my rope with the art.


(\__/) | This is Bunny.
(O.o ) | Copy Bunny into your signature to help
(> < ) | him on his way to world domination!
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:20PM
legendkiller13 at 3:03PM, Aug. 25, 2007
(online)
posts: 155
joined: 1-1-2007
i think this should work, however you will have your line art against a checkered background and to me that is anoying, but anyway. take a lasso tool and select areas and hit delete, that should do it, you can do small or lagres areas at a time . goodluck
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:34PM
stabbyfairy at 6:36AM, Aug. 26, 2007
(online)
posts: 83
joined: 5-17-2007
legendkiller13
i think this should work, however you will have your line art against a checkered background and to me that is anoying, but anyway. take a lasso tool and select areas and hit delete, that should do it, you can do small or lagres areas at a time . goodluck
It'd be quicker to use ‘select by colour’ (or whichever equivalent tool it is) and then delete. You'd have to experiment with the tolerance though because otherwise you'll still have grey areas around the black lines which looks horrible if you're planning to colour underneath.
Both ways'd work.

However, in the program I use (GIMP) it doesn't allow transparency on the background layer unless you select the ‘add alpha channel’ option. If that's what you're having problems with then either do that (or whatever is the equivalent in the program you use) or put the lineart in as its own layer in a new file, or just as a new layer in what you're using and then delete the background layer. Then it'd work fine.
Ugh, I suck at explaining things. v_v
Currently rewriting Pictures from the start - and it is now called In Carnate.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:55PM
spacehamster at 7:03AM, Aug. 26, 2007
(online)
posts: 504
joined: 8-3-2007
In Photoshop, you can just set the lineart layer to multiply.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:50PM
Corvin at 8:17AM, Sept. 14, 2007
(offline)
posts: 157
joined: 5-29-2006
anyone know how to select only the line art in Paintshop Pro, or should i just take my computer and chuck it out the window, and THEN install Gimp, which seems to be the program of choice around here?

Corvin
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:46AM
gigatwo at 9:13PM, Sept. 14, 2007
(online)
posts: 308
joined: 1-6-2006
quick GIMP trick

“Layer>transparency>color to alpha” (It'll also automatically add the alpha channel.)

Setting the layer to multiply also works.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:36PM
Corvin at 7:25AM, Sept. 16, 2007
(offline)
posts: 157
joined: 5-29-2006
so i guess i should just give up and switch to gimp?

Corvin
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:46AM
yadiel at 7:12AM, Sept. 17, 2007
(offline)
posts: 70
joined: 8-31-2007
Gimp is a great option, but if you have photoshop, you could just change the layer type to multiply, it will also do the trick.
<— by the way crits are more than welcome =D
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:52PM
gigatwo at 3:43PM, Sept. 17, 2007
(online)
posts: 308
joined: 1-6-2006
yadiel
Gimp is a great option, but if you have photoshop, you could just change the layer type to multiply, it will also do the trick.
That'll work in the gimp as well. Same thing with paint.net and I believe PSP.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:36PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved