Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

how did/do you come up with a name for your comic?
Kristen Gudsnuk at 1:04PM, April 8, 2007
(online)
I suck at naming things… (usually my poems are titled stuff like “poem!!” or “poem ;_; ” or whatever…)
and I wanna come up with a cool name for the part of my comic I'm doing now because I'm gonna print it out and sell it when I'm done, BUT, if I title it Misfit Assassins it'll be quite the misnomer because this part in particular is really not about assassins.
SO!~ Anyone have some sort of cool formula for figuring out a name? (or… you know… wanna come up with a name for me?)
or just give me one of those lovely rambly anecdotes about how you decided on your comic's name.
meh, this thread probably already exists, doesn't it.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:22PM
ozoneocean at 1:49PM, April 8, 2007
(online)
Naming is very important. Back when I was an art student I realised how offensive and rude it was not to give my artworks a title.
-not deliberately rude of course, as an artist you don't really think that way! You just don't want to name it because you either can't think of anything or don't want to limit your work, but that's NOT how your intended viewers see things. So I became good at naming things. Names are VERY important; More than most people ever realise. ;)

As for my comic… Well, it was all about the main character. It's ALL about her! Her defining feature. The comic was created for her. So that's why “Pinky”. The “TA” part comes from her ear plates. That came in originally because I loved the Rolling Stones song “She's my little Rock'n roll” -“she's my little rock'n roll, T and A with Soul honey, she's my little rock'n roll!”. But it WASn't about “Tits” and “Arse”, I just like the song and the letters, T & A.