Comic Talk and General Discussion *

How has the recession affected YOU (or someone you know)?
kyupol at 12:40PM, Jan. 12, 2009
(online)

Just today, my coworker got laid off as business is becoming slow.

God knows if its gonna be my turn next. :(

last edited on July 14, 2011 1:26PM
lba at 1:09PM, Jan. 12, 2009
(online)
So far I haven't been affected as heavily since I'm a student with no major bills other than the small amount I have on my credit card and my student loans. The area my family lives in out in Iowa is also an incredibly stable area and isn't having many problems and is actually growing economically so they're fairly safe.

There's a lot of places in the country that aren't going to be affected or only minimally affected and in a lot of places I've been lately people seem to regard the media as just being alarmist and over-hyping things.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:29PM
seventy2 at 1:20PM, Jan. 12, 2009
(online)
i live of other peoples taxes, and the government only lays off people they find extremely retarded (emphasis on extremely). and most people in my family are farmers.
facara
Running Anew an exercise blog.
I'm gonna love you till the money comes, half of it's gonna be mine someday.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:29PM
usedbooks at 3:03PM, Jan. 12, 2009
(online)
Well, I can't find a job. I've been looking since I got my masters degree almost two years ago. I thought there was something wrong with *me.* It's sort of a relief to think it might be the economy. (So, please don't tell me it's just over-hype, because that's the only comfort I have holding my self-esteem together. Even if it's a lie, it makes me happy. :-P )
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:37PM
Katsu at 3:24PM, Jan. 12, 2009
(offline)
The recession has hit my parents hard who own their own business, they had to lay off four people last week out of the 16 employees that they had. :/