Help, Support and Suggestions

I updated and I dont seem to be on the front page.
harkovast at 6:39PM, Feb. 1, 2010
(online)
posts: 5,198
joined: 10-12-2008
I just updated and my comic does not appear to have come up on the front page for “just in”.
I know it probably wont make a huge difference, but it might have sent a few extra hits my way, so I cant help but feel a bit cheated.

For more Harkovast related goings on, go to the Harkovast Forum
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:44PM
ZeroGee at 9:11PM, Feb. 1, 2010
(online)
posts: 48
joined: 11-5-2009
I'm having the same problem. :(

last edited on July 14, 2011 4:57PM
ozoneocean at 11:40PM, Feb. 1, 2010
(online)
posts: 25,086
joined: 1-2-2004
Were your comics autoupdated via the queue system or were they manually updated?
I've just updated my test comic Pinky manually just now and it showed up fine on the front page so I doubt there's any general issue with that system.



It's possible that due to a large volume of updates at the time that your comic was bumped before it could really have a showing, or, it could possibly be some sort of individual thing wrong with your own account… But it would be rare to manifest in that particular way.
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:35PM
ZeroGee at 7:01AM, Feb. 2, 2010
(online)
posts: 48
joined: 11-5-2009
How do I do that so that it shows up the time & day I update? There's no setting for time, just year,month and day.
This isnt the first time it's happened, but it only did this rarely untill last week then it was every time I updated.

Edit: I put up a couple of test pages. The first didnt show up, but the second one worked, and my comic is on the front page as just in. I'll check on it in a couple of hours and see if it's still up. (Or untill it get's bumped off)

last edited on July 14, 2011 4:57PM
ozoneocean at 7:45AM, Feb. 2, 2010
(online)
posts: 25,086
joined: 1-2-2004
There's no way to show the time of day or set an update for a certai time of day. Automatic updates happen when the site turns over at 12am Drunk Duck time,. All comics updated on the current day (after the 12am turnover) will show as updated for the full 24 hours till the next turnover. They'll only show up on the front page till they're bumped.

If you update you comic manually you can update it at any time during that 24 hour period, but it will only show up as updated till the next turnover- so if you update at 12pm it will only show up as a new page for 12 hours, or if you do it at 8 pm it means you only have four hours, and if you do it at something like 11.59 pm it means you only have 1 minute :)

The best way to manually update to ensure your comic is marked as updated for the longest time is as early in the DD day as possible- like 12am, or 1am or something. Autoupdates are best at that because they automatically do it at 12am.

If you want to know what time DD time is relative to YOUR actual time, that's easy: just make a post in the forums and it will tell you exactly what time it is next to your post- from there you can easily work out the difference.

———–
ie. My post here says it was made at 9:45 am. My local time is actually 11:45pm. That's a 14 hour time difference. So that means that when it's12 am DD time that it's 2 pm local time for me.
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:35PM
skoolmunkee at 2:36PM, Feb. 2, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
“Just In” doesn't always seem to work anyway… we get people posting in here now and then saying although they updated their comic isn't appearing. I know it's happened to me too. I'm not sure if we ever figured out exactly what the cause was.
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:43PM
spkdpnch at 6:39PM, Feb. 3, 2010
(online)
posts: 43
joined: 10-22-2007
I'm having this problem. It says I have a page but nothing is there.
www.castleart.org *if I ever get it up to date, I'll be suprised*
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:54PM
ozoneocean at 7:07PM, Feb. 3, 2010
(online)
posts: 25,086
joined: 1-2-2004
You're talking about your comic account “A Line In Time”? It says you have the account but have not uploaded any pages yet. That's quite a different issue…
HAVE you uploaded your first page for that account yet?
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:35PM
spkdpnch at 7:45PM, Feb. 3, 2010
(online)
posts: 43
joined: 10-22-2007
that's because I took it down again but all the time I've put it up, nothing shows. I'll try again and and see..

the same goes for my thumbnail. I push send it does the working thing at the top of my browser and nothing happens.

Now it's uploaded but on the front page all I see is a box and a little line on the upper left hand side.

I thought this was because I didn't have a thumbnail or title image but no matter how many times I send, nothing shows up at all.
www.castleart.org *if I ever get it up to date, I'll be suprised*
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:54PM
ozoneocean at 7:51PM, Feb. 3, 2010
(online)
posts: 25,086
joined: 1-2-2004
Could you please try the fix I suggested at the bottom of this thread (where you also reported the issues:
http://www.drunkduck.com/community/view_topic.php?tid=20107&cid=229

And if that doesn't work, it might be worth trying to delete that comic and then reposting a new one.
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:35PM
spkdpnch at 7:56PM, Feb. 3, 2010
(online)
posts: 43
joined: 10-22-2007
sorry, I didn't see that before but I'll try it. if I delete the comic, can I use the same name?
www.castleart.org *if I ever get it up to date, I'll be suprised*
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:54PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved