Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

I'm going to be a first-time exhibitor. Does anyone have advice?
JLG at 4:16AM, Feb. 21, 2010
(online)
I'm going to have a booth at the MoCCA convention NYC on April 10th. I've never done this before, and I need to start preparing now. Thing is, I'm not completely sure what the best plan would be. I've had this weekly strip since November ‘08, so that’s 68 strips so far. One idea is to take everything I have up to this point, plus some extra stuff, and make that into a little book. But I've wondered if that's throwing too large a percentage of what I've got out there in one go, since the whole point is to get people to follow you around, so to speak. Maybe it would be smarter to take a very small number of those 68 strips and make it a mini booklet? I just don't know.

If anyone has any suggestions based on experience, plus any other tips based on the material I have (for anyone who's seen it!), I'd be very grateful for the advice.

(NOTE: I apologize for posting this same topic in two different forums—it's also in “conventions”—but I wasn't sure if that one got as much traffic as this one.)
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:09PM
Darth Mongoose at 6:17AM, Feb. 21, 2010
(online)
It depends on whether you're giving the books out for free or selling them.

If you're giving them out free as a taster, pick out say 10-20 of your best strips, or, if there's a narrative, 10-20 strips that can be read in a nice, self-contained chunk. This will give people an idea about your comic and tempt them to give it a go. Make sure the URL is there nice and visible.