Interviews

ifelldownthestairs interviews DrLuck of A Loonatic's Tale and others!
skoolmunkee at 9:50AM, July 23, 2009
(offline)
This interview is of DrLuck, whose comics are:
A Loonatic's Tale
Crossbones
Renswick v Keeth
Flint Dartson in the Fourth Wall
Vagabond
(interview conducted by ifelldownthestairs!)

Before we begin, I'd like to thank DrLuck for being an awesome interview partner. So without further ado, um… stuff.

1. According to your profile, you are a student at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design, are quite ambitious towards making comics, and introduced yourself in the forums as “that new weird person over there”; my heart is aflutter already, please tell us more :)

A: I'm one of the students at MCAD that can't for the life of me choose just one major. We offer a comic art major here (and I've taken two comic art courses), though my major is technically Web is this based on any specific influences? And if so, who/what?

A: Most likely my co-writer, Rick. We've been writing together for about six years now and we both shared the same kind of sense of humor and write stories together for fun. In fact, A Loonatic's Tale is those stories we started writing six years ago, just edited and put into comic form.

4. A little more than halfway through A Loonatic's Tale you switched up the art style from color to black and white, which was mentioned a lot in your reviews, but never explained. Why the change?

A: The reason for the change was for a number of reasons. First, the switch happened in a two year span. I stopped making A Loonatic's Tale at about the final colored one because no one was really reading it and I didn't really know what I was doing. I took two comic classes at MCAD and decided to pick it up again.