Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Illustration Career
Priceman at 10:11AM, March 12, 2007
(online)
I'm not sure if this topic goes here, but anyway….

Basically, i'm about to start taking college classes to recieve a bachlor's degree in illustration (not exactly sure what kind as of yet). When i'm done with this, i was thinking of being a professional illustrator. I basically wanted to ask any illustrators out there, or those who know anything about the career field, for their opinion on the subject.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:47PM
reconjsh at 10:32AM, March 12, 2007
(online)
I got my BS in Computer Science (emphasis on graphic design). I work as a professional Graphic Designer. My work ranges from company branding to web design to marketing… and on and on. While I don't do exactly what you probably want to do, I work with alot of “illustrators” and I am familiar with the field.

My question for YOU is… what specifically do you want to do as an illustrator? That title alone is too vague. What specific questions do you have?

If you want to know if there's work potential out there for “illustrators”, then the answer is “definitely yes, for some kinds of illustrators”.

last edited on July 14, 2011 3:02PM
Alexis at 5:00PM, March 12, 2007
(offline)
I graduated last may with a BFA in painting, drawing, and photography and I would say that the one thing they didn't teach us is how to find work, keep work, and promote ourselves. I personally had some rough wake up calls when I started going to comic cons because I have problems with social anxiety disorders. I would suggest taking some classes in buisness and sales if you can. My illustration professor described comic book art in particular as the NBA of the art world, but if it's what you want to do then go for it.