General Discussion

It's alive, ALIVE!!! The Drunk Duck Store.
WinterLegend at 8:38AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 13
joined: 6-2-2009
Aren't I special? I'll PM you.
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:51PM
Platinum Dan at 8:40AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 101
joined: 9-28-2006
Oh, and the artist's agreement has been changed, Abt_Nihil. If anybody else has concerns, please address them to me, either in a PQ or here. We're really not trying to steal anyone's creations and happy to make whatever adjustments are necessary to make you feel comfortable using the store. We're hoping it's a win-win for all concerned.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:46PM
ozoneocean at 8:50AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 24,997
joined: 1-2-2004
Platinum Dan
And if anybody is curious about the price list, it's all right here:
http://store.drunkduck.com/member/pricelist. It includes retail prices of what we're getting charged for each piece and exactly what you make on each piece. And that price list is always accessible through your store dashboard or through the FAQ.
AH, you have to be logged in to see it.

Seems you'll do a lot better if you sell the cheaper things. Hmm There's a bigger profit percentage there.
When marketing your stuff it might be better to promote the small prints and things in preference to the cooler stuff if you want to make more sales.
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:36PM
skoolmunkee at 9:04AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
Evil Emperor Nick has started a DD Store bug reporting thread. I've already reported his bug to Plat.
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:43PM
PIT_FACE at 9:24AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,588
joined: 4-21-2007
got some art up and soon there'll be even more!. man, this is fun! now i want to make some money, so if anyone likes my art, go get it!
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:45PM
JustNoPoint at 10:13AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
Would it be possible to have a thumbnail of the picture or let the user choose what part of the image is shown instead of the image always being in the center?

It's hard to tell what a lot of things even are from the thumbnails it currently generates.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
usedbooks at 10:25AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,609
joined: 2-24-2007
JustNoPoint
Would it be possible to have a thumbnail of the picture or let the user choose what part of the image is shown instead of the image always being in the center?

It's hard to tell what a lot of things even are from the thumbnails it currently generates.

In firefox, it does show the whole image thumbnailed.

It seems to “zoom in” on part in IE.

I think they already know about that anyway:
Someone
NOTE: It is currently recommended that you view the Drunk Duck Store on Firefox or Google Chrome. There is small bug on a couple of browsers, including Safari and Internet Explorer, that is causing the thumbnails to display an inaccurate representation of the actual image.

We are aware of the issue and are working to correct it shortly.
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:38PM
JustNoPoint at 10:39AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
I use FireFox =p ver 3.5.8

I meant on the main index to clarify.

Here's what the 1st page looks like to me.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
usedbooks at 10:52AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,609
joined: 2-24-2007
Update your Firefox maybe? Mine is 3.6.2



Or there's something else going on.
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:38PM
Platinum Dan at 10:55AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 101
joined: 9-28-2006
We were aware this was going on in IE, which is why we put on the front page that the store is best viewed in browsers other than IE. We're working on it.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:46PM
Evil Emperor Nick at 10:55AM, March 30, 2010
(offline)
posts: 395
joined: 1-16-2006
Regardless since the images need to be “generic” so as to go onto a large number of products and then adjusted by the buyer to be optimized on an item that capacity to make a thumbnail in some form would be useful in making products as attractive to potential customers as possible. Cramming a whole cast poster, for example, into a thumbnail might or might not really do the whole justice depending on the composition and what shrinking did to it.

last edited on July 14, 2011 12:23PM
JustNoPoint at 11:05AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
I didn't realize my FireFox was out of date. It normally tells me >:-(
That fixed the problem ^_^

Would be nice for a “edit” image function as well.
I keep having to delete to find out what sizes/dpis I should use for my images. I guess by default you'd want a lot of blank space around the edges so it can be cropped correctly. Since you can't zoom out.

Now to increase my collection of Signifikat and Used books apparel =D

Didn't see any Cwen's Quest yet *shakes fist*
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
I Am The 1337 Master at 11:30AM, March 30, 2010
(offline)
posts: 3,785
joined: 1-16-2009
Platinum Dan
We were aware this was going on in IE, which is why we put on the front page that the store is best viewed in browsers other than IE. We're working on it.
runs “fine” on my comp and I got IE. By fine I mean as bad as it usually does. but no worse.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:54PM
Platinum Dan at 11:33AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 101
joined: 9-28-2006
One of our next updates we have planned is to allow creators to create custom merchandise. Meaning you'll be able to upload a piece of art you create for a specific product and highlight that on your own art page. Editing the thumbnails is something we'll have to look into. I'm a little worried that it will make the home page look crazy if we allow a bunch of different size thumbnails. We'll look into it, though.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:46PM
JustNoPoint at 11:36AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
I wouldn't worry about the sizes. Just tell users that their thumbnails must be X x X size. Like the thumbnails on DD (though here we can go smaller, but that's beside the point =p)
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
same at 11:42AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,506
joined: 8-3-2008
Should there not be black T shirts? But thanks for everything there already is. Im concidering buying a black mug. But who's black mug? :kitty:
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:20PM
Evil Emperor Nick at 11:43AM, March 30, 2010
(offline)
posts: 395
joined: 1-16-2006
JustNoPoint
I wouldn't worry about the sizes. Just tell users that their thumbnails must be X x X size. Like the thumbnails on DD (though here we can go smaller, but that's beside the point =p)

&

Didn't see any Cwen's Quest yet *shakes fist*

JNP has the right of it. They can be a static size as long as we can customize what the thumbnail shows within that size just like our comics' thumbnails.

And actually Cwen's single available item is the first one listed in fantasy. I can't imagine why no one has bought it yet.

last edited on July 14, 2011 12:23PM
JustNoPoint at 11:49AM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
Evil Emperor Nick
And actually Cwen's single available item is the first one listed in fantasy. I can't imagine why no one has bought it yet.
EEN's store Description
Description:
A test of the system here. NOT INTENDED FOR SALE.
:(

EDIT: HAHA my newest picture looks really funny in the thumbnail since it's not wide. XD
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
Knuckles at 1:15PM, March 30, 2010
(offline)
posts: 436
joined: 2-15-2006
Hey, the store looks great! However, it's not letting me log in :( I put my DD information in there, but it's saying it can't find me…

Myth Xaran (manga) - http://www.drunkduck.com/Myth_Xaran
Exodus Studios (Games & More) - http://www.exodus-studio.com
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:19PM
skoolmunkee at 2:30PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
JustNoPoint
Would be nice for a “edit” image function as well.
I keep having to delete to find out what sizes/dpis I should use for my images. I guess by default you'd want a lot of blank space around the edges so it can be cropped correctly. Since you can't zoom out.
I'm not sure what you're describing here. You can edit an image's information in your portfolio, if you want to edit the image you need to upload a new one so it goes through the approval process again. That way people can't be sneaky.

It does say on the upload page that you should use 150-300dpi though.
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:43PM
skoolmunkee at 2:32PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
Knuckles
Hey, the store looks great! However, it's not letting me log in :( I put my DD information in there, but it's saying it can't find me…

If it's your first time logging in, you actually need to Register rather than Log In. There's an option on there to link up to your DD account.
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:43PM
lba at 3:02PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,686
joined: 5-29-2007
The issue with it refusing an image, claiming you haven't entered in info for the image is something I ran into it messing around with the store in beta. The way I solved it was by saving it as a different basic file type like a jpeg. I thought I'd sent a PQ to Oz about it with my solution, but I might have neglected it while working on other things.

If you're worried about quality loss a png will work fine, but you really don't need layers, and a TIFF is typically way too file-size intensive for people to be uploading a couple hundred of them at any given time.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:30PM
JustNoPoint at 3:32PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
skoolmunkee
I'm not sure what you're describing here. You can edit an image's information in your portfolio, if you want to edit the image you need to upload a new one so it goes through the approval process again. That way people can't be sneaky.

It does say on the upload page that you should use 150-300dpi though.

I thought about that after wards. About ppl being sneaky and editing in bad things.

1st time I uploaded at 300dpi. It said the resolution was too small for the 12x18 poster. So I uploaded a 600dpi version. But this time I noticed that you want to leave buffer space around the edges because you can only zoom in with the editor and not out.

So I had to upload again. But it still says that my image isn't the correct resolution for the poster. Though the latest image I uploaded is. I guess the pictures have to be a certain height as well for that poster option?

I think it should tell people it would be in their better interest to add extra room for cropping purposes. Or have some nice template sizes for the different items? Obviously taller images are more fit to certain items than wider and vice versa.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
I Am The 1337 Master at 3:48PM, March 30, 2010
(offline)
posts: 3,785
joined: 1-16-2009
Forgot to say that I actually quite like the system at the moment. It's pretty well organized and I need a Bonsey t-shirt from PIT_FACE.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:54PM
PIT_FACE at 5:51PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,588
joined: 4-21-2007
I Am The 1337 Master
Forgot to say that I actually quite like the system at the moment. It's pretty well organized and I need a Bonsey t-shirt from PIT_FACE.

:D well man, i've been uploading like fuckin crazy, but if there's anything specific ya got in mind lemme know and i'll make it!
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:45PM
PIT_FACE at 5:55PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,588
joined: 4-21-2007
JustNoPoint
I use FireFox =p ver 3.5.8

I meant on the main index to clarify.

Here's what the 1st page looks like to me.


that's how it looks to me too and i even loaded it on mozilla. no change.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:45PM
lba at 8:01PM, March 30, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,686
joined: 5-29-2007
Try upgrading firefox Pit. It's perfectly fine on mine and I've got the latest version.

JustNoPoint
I think it should tell people it would be in their better interest to add extra room for cropping purposes. Or have some nice template sizes for the different items? Obviously taller images are more fit to certain items than wider and vice versa.

Most of the items in the store have their size in the drop-down menu. So long as you make the artwork proportional to that size, there should be no need for a template. For those that don't most of them are items that you can play with the image size a lot before you're in trouble.

I agree that people should always add bleed, no questions. You can always crop, but it's impossible to add to an image once it's complete and uploaded unless you want to redo the image and re-upload.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:30PM
skoolmunkee at 1:38AM, March 31, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
JustNoPoint
1st time I uploaded at 300dpi. It said the resolution was too small for the 12x18 poster. So I uploaded a 600dpi version. But this time I noticed that you want to leave buffer space around the edges because you can only zoom in with the editor and not out.
This is probably related to something we've brought up with Platinum. Apparently on the store side, every image uploaded is optimized in some way (maybe to meet EZPrints requirements?) so there reaches a point where uploading a higher dpi is useless. It does mean however that the 12x18 prints are difficult to get, I think because the optimization optimizes based on the assumption that most people aren't drawing larger than 11x14… which is a bit silly nowadays, since digital art isn't restricted by paper size.

I'm not sure what the magic formula is that lets you get those 12x18 prints, but lba may be right in that it's proper proportions or something….
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:43PM
JustNoPoint at 4:49AM, March 31, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,325
joined: 3-16-2007
I was thinking that maybe the site alters the resolution on it's end. It seemed that the amount of zoom I could use on the 300dpi and the 600 were the same but I couldn't remember for sure.

I ordered 2 15oz mugs and the key chain. I'll let everyone know how they look and how long they take to get here. I ordered yesterday.

Shipping seemed a tad high for such items. Almost $9.00

EDIT: More future things that might be nice to add in when possible:
Being able to save your shipping/paying details to your account.

Getting a discount on your own items. I know I'll get the $$$ back through paypal later, but it'd be a lot more convenient to not have to worry about losing the cash right up front.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:12PM
ozoneocean at 5:35AM, March 31, 2010
(online)
posts: 24,997
joined: 1-2-2004
JustNoPoint
Shipping seemed a tad high for such items. Almost $9.00
Ha! When I bought my mug I had the option of paying $11.90, $35.85, or $59.85!

This is to Australia mind you, but $59.85 for a new printed mug?
I get heavy, unusually shaped valuable antique stuff from e-bay all the time from the UK, Canada, and the states and nothing the size and weight of a mug ever costs that much to ship. The most expensive prices I've paid in shipping was for fur jackets from Canada, a sabre sword and a Chinese fighter pilot helmet from mainland China. :)

From discussions with Plat staff though I know there is a problem with EZprint's shipping calculator when you get results for the international prices (you get 4 results instead of two). So the high costs I got could be due to something to do with that, or maybe not. I'm not sure at this stage
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:36PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved