Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Japanese for dummies (and fanboys/girls)
Darth Mongoose at 7:19AM, Nov. 21, 2006
(online)
Okay, this is not a thread to tell you that you should write your comic forwards rather than backwards, or to tell you that writing your sound effects in another language is a bit strange. Even if I told people these, they wouldn't listen. This is a thread on how to use Japanese words, or rather, how NOT to use them in order to prevent yourself looking like a total idiot fanboy or girl. I'm a fourth year university student of the language, and I've spent a year living and studying in Japan, so though I'm not fluent, I can do things like explain the history and purpose of the European Union in Japanese (and once I actually had to do that for a Japanese friend), which should give you an idea of my level.
If you also happen to know something about the language and would like to add tips, please do so, or if you have questions, feel free to ask! Please don't fill the thread up with ‘why I hate comics that use Japanese’. That's not the point of the thread, the point is to help people who DO want to use Japanese in their comics, for whatever reason, use it less stupidly.

So, here we go with the sins of looking up names using a dictionary…

i-Adjectives are not names.
So, you're looking for a Japanese name for your character, huh? Aha, and you bought yourself a Japanese-English dictionary! You want a name for a character who is kind, so you flick to ‘kind’ and get ‘Yasashii’…STOP!
How many people do you know whose names are adjectives? Well, I know of six; Sleepy, Grumpy, Bashful, Dopey, Happy and Sneezy. You don't know it, because Japanese isn't your language, but giving your character an adjective for a name sounds just as strange in another language as it does in English.
The following may sound cool to you, if you have very limited or no Japanese knowledge, untranslated: