Help, Support and Suggestions

little things
Pineapple at 6:26PM, April 21, 2008
(online)
posts: 276
joined: 4-21-2008
I’ve read the other threads and the don’t cover what I need helpwith, or they greatly over estimated my computing ability.

Thumbnails and Advertars. If I have the picture I want to put in, how do I make it the correct pixel size?

When originally making my comic, I accidentally set one of the genres wrong. Is there any way I can go back and fix it?

And why are my apostrophes having a fit? ‘’’’’’ It makes my posts quite illegible.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:43PM
ozoneocean at 6:51AM, April 22, 2008
(online)
posts: 24,789
joined: 1-2-2006
1. You need an image editing program. On Windows the most common and easy free one is Windows paint. You can search for and download other better free ones like GIMP (but that takes a bit to learn), or something easy and good like Open Canvas.

2. Go to your comic control panel and click “Show Advanced Comic Descriptions”. There you can alter your comic genre.

3. Type the apostrophes directly into your browser along with all the rest of your text ^_^

-If you have trouble with spelling and copy and paste from Word, the special characters Word uses as punctuation get all fuzzed up in the forums. A good way to avoid that and still spell well is to use Mozilla Firefox. It has a built in spell checker. It's not the best spell checker in the world, but it's damn handy!
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:30PM
Pineapple at 5:10PM, April 22, 2008
(online)
posts: 276
joined: 4-21-2008
Cheers- that helps alot. ‘'’''''' (they work now)

Now I'm in MS paint and I have a image that I want to use as a thumbnail. I can't find anywhere in MS paint were it tells me how many pixals it is.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:43PM
ozoneocean at 9:00PM, April 22, 2008
(online)
posts: 24,789
joined: 1-2-2006
I just had a look at MS paint. You need to look at the image attributes. You can do this by hitting two keys “Ctrl” and “E”, or clicking on “Image” in the top bar and then clicking on “Attributes” :)
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:30PM
Pineapple at 2:48AM, April 23, 2008
(online)
posts: 276
joined: 4-21-2008
Right, I know that this is turning into a bit of a saga, but I've come this far. I have the image, it's the right size and it is jpeg but it still won't load. I select it from “browse” but it doesn't replace my thumbnail even when I press send. I looked in the thumbnail thread, but that didn't do much for me. Any ideas?
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:43PM
ozoneocean at 3:48AM, April 23, 2008
(online)
posts: 24,789
joined: 1-2-2006
It doesn't change when you press both “Ctrl” and “F5”.

One other thing that may happen is that the image bug is getting you. Try saving in another format like png or gif and upload it again,
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:30PM
Pineapple at 4:37AM, April 23, 2008
(online)
posts: 276
joined: 4-21-2008
I did it (we did it)! You were right, it worked as gif but that messed up the colours so now its png and it looks fine. Thank you for putting in so much time and effort for someone who's only been here for three days.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:43PM
ozoneocean at 6:12AM, April 23, 2008
(online)
posts: 24,789
joined: 1-2-2006
No worries. It's a pleasure :)
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:30PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved