Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Love that is not cheesy?
demontales at 4:05PM, Oct. 11, 2010
(online)
I've most of the time tried to avoid love subjects in my stories, but in the first arc of the comic I'm doing I do have to pass in that dreaded zone. Most of the ideas I put on paper are rejected as soon as written because it sounds too awfully cheesy to me. I'm starting to wonder if it's possible to write scenes about love without beeing boring and plain and/or overused.

I don't want to kill the reader's attention in the first chapter, especially that after it will move on to much different subjects. Plus I don't really want to make people think I'm a romantic writer, and anyone that knows me would surely laugh at the idea. And it's unfortunately too late to switch the chapters as I should have done earlier.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:10PM
Hunchdebunch at 1:01PM, Oct. 13, 2010
(online)
It would be easier for us to help you if you told us what sort of romantic scenes you're looking to create :) I can fully understand what you mean though; it can be hard to write love scenes in a non-cheesy way. My best advice at this stage would be just to keep it natural, if you get what I mean :)
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:51PM
demontales at 2:04PM, Oct. 13, 2010
(online)
It will be hard telling about the scenes without giving spoilers, but I'll try.

An ex-girlfriend of some character will come back and even though romance won't happen again, there will probably be flashbacks of when they were still together, and some kind of jealousy from the current girlfriend.

Also, a girl has feelings for another guy than her boyfriend(the boyfriend knows it) and I don't want the scene where the guy “who is loved” learns it to be too cliché(will probably be the boyfriend who tells him).

I had other ideas but succeeded to plan less romantic scenes that I had in my original plan.
Asbin at 7:43PM, Oct. 13, 2010
(online)