Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Need some experienced advice!
ExecutionStyle at 3:12PM, March 18, 2008
(offline)
I'm new to comic making and have some question. If you can answer any of my questions it would help tons! I realize the answers to these questions will be based on personal preference and that's just what I want. I'm still developing my own style and looking at other peoples processes gives me ideas for my own.

When drawing a comic page traditionally, on paper, what size paper do you prefer? Do you use a paper that is larger than the size you plan to have printed?

When you draw comic panels digitally how large would you say your average panel is(in pixels)? Do you draw all your panels large and then scale them down?
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:24PM
korosu at 5:05PM, March 18, 2008
(online)
Oh, you should definitely work bigger than what the final product will be. Back in the day when I was just starting off on my comic, I just used 8.5x11 in. printing paper for the art and inking. After scanning the page, it automatically gets enlarged to a size fair enough for the coloring, text, etc.

Digitally speaking, most comics are around the 600x800 pixels range, but you definitely don't want to start working with a page that small. It's easier to work in details with a large document; also, small mistakes aren't as obvious after you've scaled it down. (For me, I start off with a 2070x2680 pixels document, and scale it down to 613x850 when doing the last touch-ups and such.)

Most panels would be, I would say, about 200x300 pixels each. Of course, panel sizes don't really matter a whole lot; it all just depends on what you're planning on putting in that panel. Some scenes may need larger or smaller panels. I make my panels large in the beginning because, again, I start off large. The panels get sized down when the whole page does.

Hope this helps, and good luck!
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:21PM
ExecutionStyle at 6:57PM, March 18, 2008
(offline)
korosu