General Discussion

new DD comic update system........
json at 10:37PM, June 20, 2010
(online)
posts: 181
joined: 9-26-2008
hey, the j is still kicking.

hadn't updated since weds. went to update this evening….new update/edit screen. it was a lil different than the one we've been using, but no biggie. but i've been stuck at 31% on the image upload for 30 freaking minutes!!! it's insanity!

is this part of the WOWIO buyout?

*edit* after 45 minutes, finally said 100% uploaded. but my new comic image is a broken image link. i'm really frustrated. i've been so busy this year with my apprenticeship and my job that, unfortunately, POWERJEFF has really suffered from the total lack of freetime i have. it makes me sad and angry to think my comic may die altogether if updating is gonna take me (as of right now) almost an hour that i don't have to maybe get a page up that is no different in size or dimesion than any of my other color pages.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:11PM
TraceurAndrew at 10:43PM, June 20, 2010
(online)
posts: 7
joined: 5-28-2010
Also, is it just me, or is uploading broken again… Every time I upload, I seem to get the error on the comic page…
http://www.drunkduck.com/The_Traceur/
My Webcomic - Updated as weekly as I can
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:33PM
ozoneocean at 12:00AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 24,995
joined: 1-2-2004
Yep, the new system has some bugs. It's part of an improved uploading system.
It works fine for many, but is very buggy for a few, we're currently reporting instances of the trouble so our programmer can sort them out.

If you could provide us with any detail like Browser type, version, any plugins or toolbars you might be running etc. that would be a massive help!

Currently we do have an image upload problem caused by a weird issue where all the space gets used up on our server all of a sudden. That comes around periodically and is fixed in good order. At the moment it's late in the evening/early morning where our programmer is so that will have to wait until the working day unfortunately.

Sorry for the inconvenience! :(
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:36PM
Luccia at 12:38AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 17
joined: 3-24-2010
Everytime I update something, I get kicked off my account. It frustrates me to tears! (kinda miss the old one)
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:48PM
Lonnehart at 12:55AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,572
joined: 3-16-2006
Well, the birth of a new baby sometimes isn't very smooth. We'll just have to put up with these problems 'til the programmer Ozone mentioned gets them fixed.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:39PM
BffSatan at 4:29AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,478
joined: 3-2-2008
There's a new what in the what now?
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:21AM
I Am The 1337 Master at 4:31AM, June 21, 2010
(offline)
posts: 3,785
joined: 1-16-2009
oh good there's a topic.




it's freaky.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:54PM
ozoneocean at 4:38AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 24,995
joined: 1-2-2004
ozoneocean
If you could provide us with any detail like Browser type, version, any plugins or toolbars you might be running etc. that would be a massive help!

…?


Did that request not appear in a language that anybody could understand?
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:36PM
BffSatan at 4:50AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,478
joined: 3-2-2008
ozoneocean
ozoneocean
Si vous pouviez nous fournir toutes les informations comme le type de navigateur, la version, les plug-ins ou barres d'outils que vous pourriez être en cours d'exécution, etc ce serait une aide massive!

…?


Est-ce à la demande figurent pas dans une langue que tout le monde pouvait comprendre?
What?
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:21AM
I Am The 1337 Master at 5:03AM, June 21, 2010
(offline)
posts: 3,785
joined: 1-16-2009
I'm not complaining but it just seems kind of alien to me whether it be a foreigner of our own planet or of out there in SPACE! The final frontier!

In a world…


okay so now i do have an issue.

the x bug thing.


internet explorer, …less toolbars…only the google two, and I'm thinking that when you upload a page it needs to load cause it has some type of load bar.

and it keeps logging me out whenever i put one up but the page (with the x error goes up)
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:54PM
crocty at 5:36AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 6,673
joined: 8-16-2007
ozoneocean
ozoneocean
If you could provide us with any detail like Browser type, version, any plugins or toolbars you might be running etc. that would be a massive help!

…?


Did that request not appear in a language that anybody could understand?
I am such a kind person I'll answer this, goddamn what a samaritan I am.
I uploaded a page with ease, though it became a broken image.
I use firefox, the only add-ons I have is adblock, no toolbar, firefox 3 I think it is? It should be the latest version. Oh, Windows 7 if yoou need that.

I didn't bother trying with any other browser.
THIS NEW SITE SUCKS I'M LEAVING FOREVER I PROMISE, GUYS.
NOT BLUFFING, I'M GONE IF YOU DON'T FIX IT.
Oh god I'm so alone someone pay attention to me
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:54AM
MrGranger at 5:48AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 127
joined: 9-25-2006
Luccia
Everytime I update something, I get kicked off my account. It frustrates me to tears! (kinda miss the old one)

And I thought it was just me. It's very strange, at first I thought I was timing out or something. Glad to see that I'm not the only one DD doesn't like today.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:08PM
ozoneocean at 6:30AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 24,995
joined: 1-2-2004
crocty
ozoneocean
ozoneocean
If you could provide us with any detail like Browser type, version, any plugins or toolbars you might be running etc. that would be a massive help!

I am such a kind person I'll answer this, goddamn what a samaritan I am.
I uploaded a page with ease, though it became a broken image.
I use firefox, the only add-ons I have is adblock, no toolbar, firefox 3 I think it is? It should be the latest version. Oh, Windows 7 if yoou need that.

I didn't bother trying with any other browser.

Thank you Crocty!

The current image bug is 100% due to the servers that DD is hosted on though, so your browser type and plugins won't affect this. That problem is caused by us running out of space all of a sudden on the hard drive that has our images and the html for custom templates uploaded to it.


If you have trouble with the file upload system specifically (not giving you a broken image, if it does that it's actually working), then please post information about these things:
1. your OS (Windows 7, Vista, XP, Linux Ubantu, Mac OSX, etc)
2. Your browser type AND version (Firefox 3.0.5, Internet Explorer 8, Safari 4 etc)
3. Any extra toolbars or plugins you are running with it (Ad-blocker. Google toolbar, Flash-blocker etc.)
4. Include screenshots- this is optional since some people have a lot of trouble with this one.

Crocty has provided you with the perfect example of the sort of thing to do.
If you don't provide that info, then please don't post about your issue because no one will be able to help you.




-Again- this is unrelated to the image bug & HTML template that should be fixed soon!
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:36PM
Product Placement at 7:36AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,078
joined: 10-18-2007
Wasn't even aware of this new upload system until I saw this thread. Decided to take it out on a test drive and unfortunately, it stalled right on the driveway. It's not uploading at all for me.

Here's my bug report:

1. Windows 7
2. Tried 3 different browsers: Firefox 3.6.3 (won't upload), Google Chrome 5.0.375.70 (won't upload) and IE 8.0.7600.16385 - 64 bit (upload button won't appear).
3. Firefox - Icelandic user interface, Vuze search tools, English and Icelandic auto spell checkers. Google Chrome - Nothing. IE - Nothing.
4.

Right click-view image for a bigger picture.

Hmm… despite the fact that I uploaded a full size picture of the browser windows, the uploaded pictures refuse to appear at the right size. I guess I have to break up the 3 images in order to show them larger. Let me know if you prefer that I do that.
Those were my two cents.
If you have any other questions, please deposit a quarter.
This space for rent.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:52PM
BffSatan at 7:48AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,478
joined: 3-2-2008
Ok, serious face on now.

Opera 10.53
Windows Vista
Comic loading bar doesn't move and when I press “upload pages” nothing happens, not even an error message.

I'll try in some other browser now.
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:21AM
therealtj at 7:59AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 3,282
joined: 3-15-2007
Hey! Now I have an excuse for not updating and disappointing fans! Thanks, DD! :D

“The only moral it is possible to draw from this story is that one should never throw the letter Q into a privet bush, but unfortunately there are times when it is unavoidable.”
-Douglas Adams, The Restaurant At the End of the Universe
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:28PM
BffSatan at 8:02AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,478
joined: 3-2-2008
BffSatan
Ok, serious face on now.

Opera 10.53
Windows Vista
Comic loading bar doesn't move and when I press “upload pages” nothing happens, not even an error message.

I'll try in some other browser now.
It worked in firefox, then I came back to Opera to double check; it worked this time. ‘~’
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:21AM
I Am The 1337 Master at 8:28AM, June 21, 2010
(offline)
posts: 3,785
joined: 1-16-2009
Windows…7?
Internet explorer 8
not running anything but i'm stupid with computers so I got 2 google toolbars, popup blocker, and that's it now…

I don't even have a “different internet” to open it with…

by the way does this mean it has to load the image?
Maybe?

it looks like a load bar and maybe once it gets full it will post it correctly

…and that means the file system still works.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:54PM
Reinderdijkhuis at 9:57AM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 26
joined: 7-17-2007
I like the new update system but since using it for Spun Off, the Previous button has gone missing on that comic. Seems to be a multi-browser problem. Related to the new system or not?
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:04PM
gnume at 12:08PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 30
joined: 4-16-2006
but what i seen the load bar can just be ignored it doesn't give any real indication on page upload status
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:38PM
I Am The 1337 Master at 1:17PM, June 21, 2010
(offline)
posts: 3,785
joined: 1-16-2009
in an hours wait and a billion tries at reloading it my page is up. success the final frontier.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:54PM
Product Placement at 6:38PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,078
joined: 10-18-2007
Ok, the upload finally worked for me but the site refuses to admit that I just updated.

Hold on… It just did. Man this is odd.

Let me explain. Once I tried uploading the comic, the update date was still showing the date of my previous update and I wasn't popping up on main page in the “This just in” list. Now that I went here to report about it, the update date just changed to TODAY. I still haven't checked the front page, though…



I just checked and I still didn't pop up on the list. It's not that I waited too long and 10 other comics updated in the meantime, because the same comics that were there before I uploaded are up there. It's not something I'm going to lose sleep over but you guys should expect some complaints about that, from other comic creators.
Those were my two cents.
If you have any other questions, please deposit a quarter.
This space for rent.
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:52PM
Lonnehart at 7:36PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,572
joined: 3-16-2006
I think this thread should be stickied… well… 'til all the bugs have been stomped flat or sprayed into oblivion… or destroyed in some other way… Maybe drowned in an Ozoneocean or brutally beaten to death by an angry Skoolmunkee? :)
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:39PM
jninjashadow at 8:53PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,165
joined: 9-25-2008
Using Windows 7, Fire Fox 3.6, upload button simply doesn't work for me. It's just a jpeg to me. Does nothing but say javascript at the bottom of my screen.
Why that's just crazy enough to walrus!
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:09PM
BffSatan at 10:03PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 1,478
joined: 3-2-2008
Ok, so now Opera is having the same issue again.
Firefox and Safari won't even let me log in (The log in boxes are missing for both)
Internet Explorer and Chrome give me a Flash Player error.
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:21AM
Reinderdijkhuis at 10:54PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 26
joined: 7-17-2007
Also, updates got posted with the correct live date but in the wrong order. I just corrected that manually though, so no point in going to my account to check.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:04PM
Lonnehart at 11:49PM, June 21, 2010
(online)
posts: 2,572
joined: 3-16-2006
Looks like the number of readers you have per day doesn't get recorded unless you just updated the comic on that day… in the stats page, anyway…
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:39PM
ozoneocean at 12:14AM, June 22, 2010
(online)
posts: 24,995
joined: 1-2-2004
Reported as much as I can get my head around.
 
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:36PM
Reinderdijkhuis at 11:56AM, June 22, 2010
(online)
posts: 26
joined: 7-17-2007
Lonnehart, I'm getting readers recorded on comics that haven't updated in a long time. I don't think there's much of a problem there.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:04PM
skoolmunkee at 12:11PM, June 22, 2010
(online)
posts: 7,058
joined: 1-2-2006
OK, I stickied this thread. I'll make a newspost directing people here too, hopefully that will keep most things in the same place, rather than all over the forums and in PQs….

We're really sorry, guys. We didn't know they were going to do this, and I'm personally pretty annoyed they're just implementing it without testing it first. I would have thought it's bad practice not to test this stuff out on a development server, or to at least give people a heads-up, or give them the option to use the old system if the new wasn't working. Wowio does have a few changes/improvements they need to make (for one thing, to get a limit on the size of files being uploaded). It does signify that DD is being paid attention to again though, so I hope we can just consider this growing pains.
  IT'S OLD BATMAN
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:43PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved