Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Panels and pacing from a non-manga point of view?
CateranLlama at 3:47PM, Sept. 30, 2008
(online)
So I'm still pretty new to comics. Read what I can get my hands on, studied as well as I can on my own. Took as many art classes as I could fit into my various school schedules over the years. (Though that was kind of a mistake, I could only find “traditional” art classes and the teachers all looked way down on comics, much less anything to do with computers.) I've also done a good bit of reading on the internet. But most of the “tips and tricks” or tutorials I've found are either 1) basic how to draw 2) how to put in speech balloons 3) some sort of specialized effect or 4) about sprite comics.

What I'm really interested in is why people use the page layouts they do. I've gone through every comic book I have, most of the ones in the public library systems around here and a reasonable number of webcomics and I see as many different styles of panels as I have sources. (Or more.) I did turn up one Panels and Pacing on livejournal last night, but it's incomplete and drawn by a manga artist. Not that there's anything wrong with manga, just that it's not what I'm most interested in. (And I want track down as many opinions on this as possible.)

My other question has to do with story speed and action, but I'm not quite sure how to phrase it. I guess I'm a little worried about the pages I've drawn. There seems to be a lot of talking and relatively little action. (No gunfights yet!) How long is too long to go without some kind of action? As long as you keep the story moving and the art dynamic (except when you have a reason not to) is a several page spread of scenery (world development) and character development OK? What about a quite-a-few page spread of them?

Thanks for your time and answers, Llama
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:37AM
lba at 5:37PM, Sept. 30, 2008
(online)