Interviews

QWtD - Sketch Sanchez interviews BlkKnight!
lucky7s76 at 1:09PM, Jan. 28, 2009
(offline)
The following interview was conducted by our own Sketch Sanchez in the Community Interview Project!

Username: BlkKnight

Comic(s): Crossing Death

So tell us about yourself.

I am a 26-year-old doctoral student with a background in statistics. I've grown up primarily on video games, primarily RPGs, and have always had a creative side. I am a very logical person and can come up with an algorithm to solve any type of problem. That trait has come in handy many times in tasks like programming and web design.

How long have you been drawing?

Technically, I've been drawing since 2001. I went sprite about 2004, and it wasn't until 2007 when I put a slight anime/manga spin that finally made my work not burn your retinas.

Who are your heroes-art wise? This could include, film, television and novels

I'd have to say Ren and Stimpy's John K. was an inspiration because of how that show only did something like one of those extremely detailed scenes if it was called for (at least until season 3). Dilbert's Scott Adams was another inspiration because he ended up being a cartoonist by pure luck. He also gave an awesome keynote presentation at the 2007 SAS Global Forum. Guess you could say that helped get me back into drawing stuff.

Where do you draw inspiration from?

I draw my inspiration from anything and everything. Japanese music games (the ones you haven't heard of), television, courses I've taken, you name it. Crossing Death's latest chapter, for example, is going to touch on the darker side of children's programming.

Elevator pitch time-tells us what Crossing death is about, sell it to us, in a paragraph or less.