Interviews

QWTD: AQua_ng interviews trevoramueller!
lucky7s76 at 8:48AM, April 30, 2008
(offline)
Username: trevoramueller
Comics: The Temple of a Thousand Tears, @$$hole

Let's start with the basics. Can we have some basic information about you (name, location, occupation, shoe size)?

Oh man, you ask the personal questions first. There's no warm up first? No “foreplay,” as it were? Alright, here we go:

1) My name really is Trevor A Mueller
2) I live in Ann Arbor, MI (the state where you actually can get frost bite and sun burn in the same day)
3) I work as an integrated communications strategist for an advertising agency in Dearborn (and that's the easy title for my job)
4) I have 10.5“-11” shoe size, depending on the brand

One of your comics is The Temple of a Thousand Tears. Why exactly did you pick an unnamed samurai as a protagonist?

Ah, the beloved swordsman. Originally when I started penning this tale back in the day, I was going to have some mystery thrown in about whether or not the swordsman could be an immortal Abraham, still walking the earth and looking for (insert MacGuffin here), or could he possibly be this legendary samurai that saved a town from one of the last dragons in the land? Or could he be both?

After a few months of playing around with several ideas, I lost interest in the mystery and decided to just keep him nameless for the time being. As I started the comic, Kill Bill finally came out and I thought to myself, “Why the hell didn't they give The Bride a freakin' name? That's so lame.” Then the irony hit me, and I shut my mouth. To this day, I swear that Tarantino stole that device from me.

If you're reading this, Quentin, I want my 10%.

Now, you have two main comics that are updating at the moment, The Temple of a Thousand Tears and the tactfully named @$$hole, both of which have completely different tones. Which do you find more fun to do?