Interviews

QWTD: lba interviews kiandranishan!
lucky7s76 at 6:40AM, April 28, 2008
(offline)
Username: kiandranishan
Comics: Kenyagi, Beyond the Pale, Stupidity in the Right Ear, Of Snakes and Apples, The Telltale Leaf

Can you give us all a bit of a quick background on yourself and how you got into comics?

Well, I was born and mostly raised in very small towns in west Texas by my mother and grandparents. I�m the middle child of seven children�but if you count my step siblings there are nine of us and there are only two girls. I�ve drawn since I was very young; I remember drawing trees and birds in preschool. I excelled in school and ended up skipping most of high school (I only went though ninth grade halfway), starting college not long before my seventeenth birthday. After college I worked as a graphic designer, which is what my degree is in, for a few years but I found that it just wasn�t for me. But before I could go back to school I fell ill and slowly but surely have been building myself back up. I�m planning on starting college again next year to get a degree in art education. My plan is to become a middle/high school art teacher, that is, unless this comic thing takes off.

I�ve read comics since I learned how to read, mostly Marvel comics�especially X-Men. I always thought that it would be so cool to create my own but never thought that my art would ever be good enough. So, I concentrated on writing. I wrote a few short stories, tried starting a few novels, but my descriptive writing was defiantly lacking. I completely forgot about creating a comic of my own, that is until I read my first web comic. I ran across Talisman a few years ago on a fantasy art forum and it inspired me to create my own. At the time I was working on a short story about a girl with a mark on her back and strange powers�wala! Kenyagi was born. And now I can�t stop, I�m a total web comic addict!