Interviews

Round 8, a little late! amanda interviews Niccea and Ochitsukanai of Mystery Bread!
skoolmunkee at 8:51AM, Aug. 27, 2009
(offline)
This interview is of Niccea and Ochitsukanai, whose collaborate the comic Mystery Bread and contribute to The Drunk Duck Mafia!
(interview conducted by amanda!)

To start, a nice and easy generic one: tell us about a little yourselves! Who are you guys? Where are you from? How'd you meet?
Niccea: Well I’m Niccea. Real name is Clara by the way. I am deep in the heart of Texas and a graduate student in Occupational Therapy school. Ochi and I met on the first day of middle school during gym class. I was sitting alone when I heard someone say, “Hey set with us.” The speaker was not Ochi, but her best friend. Eventually Ochi and I got to know each other and became friends too.

Ochi: I am an English major and a history minor, but I've been practicing drawing for several years. The maxim by which I try to live is “don't be a jerk.” As Niccea said, we met in middle school, proving that good things can indeed come out of suffering~

Now… about your flagship comic Mystery Bread. A superheroic bread loaf? Clearly you're trying to promote the value of whole grains in one's diet, but are there any other reasons you chose this form?
Niccea: We didn’t choose the form, the form chose us. Ochi and I are apt to random conversations. Midway through the discussion through food in Lord of the Rings (I don’t even know how we got to that point.) Ochi forgot the name of Lampas bread and decided to call it “mystery bread.” The idea for the comics shot into our heads then.

What gave you the idea to do a story by turns? Has this given you any issues?