Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Shading
hat at 6:04PM, Nov. 3, 2006
(offline)
Hey, how do you do your shading? I'm not good at it all, so I'm gonna try any techniques you have (if you've got any). Usually I just take a darker color and shade the parts that are away from the sun or something basic like that, though I've seen much cooler and more proffesional shading done.

I have Flash and Photoshop.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:45PM
Rimbaum at 6:13PM, Nov. 3, 2006
(offline)
I personally use a cel-shading technique, which really only seems time-consuming at first. Once you do it for a little while, it's very easy and looks pretty good to boot.

Really, the key to doing most kinds of shading (especially if you're using a program like Photoshop) is to use layers. If you want, I might be able to do a fairly simple tutorial for it, though I'm sure you can find ones that would be much better just by typing in “cel-shading tutorials” into Google and searching.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:08PM
subcultured at 8:12PM, Nov. 3, 2006
(online)
more tutorials here: http://www.drunkduck.com/Subcultured_Tutorials

J
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:00PM
gigatwo at 2:25PM, Nov. 4, 2006
(online)
I usually use bezier curves to cell shade with the paths tool, and then create a layer set to “overlay” and airbrush over it. The end result is crap.
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:35PM
deletedbyrequest03 at 9:49PM, Nov. 4, 2006
(offline)
Hmm. Since I ink, I do my shading with lines and cross hatching. Here's an example pic:

I occasionally use screen tones if I want more detail. That's about it :D

This year, school's full of BS!!!
last edited on July 14, 2011 12:04PM
kyupol at 10:14AM, Nov. 5, 2006
(offline)
hat