Debate and Discussion

Virginia Tech
Mister Spook at 8:30AM, April 17, 2007
(offline)
Virginia Tech Shooting

I'm actually surprised no one has posted about this - or if they have, I haven't seen it. I would be excited it that I get to open the post except its not fun news at all. I'm sure many of you have heard about the shooting at Virginia Tech. They're calling it the worst academic shooting case ever. That's bad. What's worse.. academic and shooting are starting to have a relationship with each other. The two words now have association previously unheard of and that means this is a growing problem. It's not going away and blaming video games or other scape goats isn't going to solve anything.

I work in a University. I'm a graduate student. My whole life, such as it is, is well rooted in Academia. This is scary. Does this mean every time I have to give a student bad news - about grades, etc. - I should fear for my life? Should I walk around wondering which nutball is going to flip out and start gunning people down on a beautiful Spring morning? I want to say no. I want to believe that students, educators, researchers - we're all there for the same goal. To perfect ourselves, to gain knowledge and experience to better our lives. But a tragedy like this casts doubt and it is something we should all think about.

I'd also just like to point out one thing my professor quoted last night in response to the shootings. I thought it amazingly appropriate and you've all probably heard it in one form or another.

" No man is an island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main. If a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if promontory were, as well as if a manor of thy friend's or of thine own were. Any man's death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee." John Donne, Meditation XVII
last edited on July 14, 2011 2:04PM