Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

what makes a good storyline?
jahn178 at 4:01PM, Aug. 24, 2008
(offline)
i am a new webcomic writer and i was wondering what makes a funny, comic, strip, storyline? This this is my comic below:

http://www.drunkduck.com/Life_on_the_I/
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:06PM
BlkKnight at 4:19PM, Aug. 24, 2008
(online)
The key is to figure out the audience you want to cater to. Are you looking more at dumb humor, witty humor, randomness, etc.?
That's “Dr. BlkKnight” to all of you.
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:26AM
JekHazit at 10:21PM, Aug. 24, 2008
(offline)
Parody humor is pretty funny, but most prefer it in videos. There is the random stuff that nobody likes. Theres the sex jokes. There is the strange overdone character that makes people somehwat laugh. Theres over using swears like in my comic.There is also embarassment. Thats all I can think of. Not much of a help because most of them arent to funny. My jokes come to me unexplainably.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:07PM
loam at 1:56AM, Aug. 25, 2008
(offline)
Work! Hard work!
While there certainly are these moments where this super-amazing ideas pop up in your head and just make for the best comic ever, usually, you'll have to work with rather ordinary stuff that easily ends up… well, ordinary.
In order to make it special, you'll have to work on your story-telling ability. That includes having the right amount of dialogue, especially working on your punchline since it's supposed to be the climax of the whole page, choosing your panels carefully according to the pace of your page and their content (size, amount, space between each panels), and of course your drawings, who should work well together and focus the reader at the very moment he looks at your comic.