Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

When to use an artist?
Meekler at 2:01PM, Feb. 10, 2010
(offline)
I'm a pretty good artist. I'm still getting the hang of a lot of things, but I'm decent enough to make my own comic. However, after working on some sketches and some very tedious pages, I feel like I'm not enjoying making the art nearly as much as writing the script.

Now, I'm no where close to mastering cartooning, so I'm thinking that maybe if I get better at it I'll like drawing more. However, even when I'm working on simple drawings I still hate doing it. Being able to only focus on the pacing of a story sounds really appealing.

Everyone has the ability to become a good artist, including the people who hire artists. When do you know if you should work with someone? Is it better to tough it out and keep working on art so you DON'T have to hire someone? Or is it one of those things where “If you don't like it now, you won't like it later”?
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:58PM
GracehFaceh at 7:20PM, Feb. 10, 2010
(online)
I think it really depends on what you're comfortable with and how much time you're willing to give yourself or someone else. I've only collaborated on a project with another person once or twice and I can say that I prefer working by myself on things. The only limitations I face are my own and I can pump out a page whenever I feel inspired to rather than having to wait on another person.

Still, a lack of enthusiasm art-wise could probably boggle you down more than working with a hired artist. Comic making can be very tedious and painful when it wants to be. Sometimes you have to make it interesting, though. Once in a while if I feel like I just can't put together a page, I try to do something different with it. Can't say my experiments are particularly successful 100% of the time, but it gets the page done and out of the way.