General Discussion

The duck's 12 step program. Post here if you found a bug/design error.
ozoneocean at 8:05PM, Feb. 2, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
@Hippie- My PQs were doing that but are fine now. Maybe it was a temporary thing, is it working now? -I don't know the link for that sub forum :(
 
@MayelV- There's this thing where ppages with the same file name have issue. Could you try different file names and see if that works or was the issue?
 
@Anubis- This is the fix here:
You can open up the layout mode and edit the image links.
Take out the "http://“ and replace it with ”https://s3.amazonaws.com/" at the begining of the image links.
If you want to update the images you can use an external service like imagelocker I think.
 
HippieVan at 8:25PM, Feb. 2, 2014
(online)
posts: 2,409
joined: 3-15-2008
Yep, it's working now. Just temporary, I guess. I figured it would be but posted it here mostly for the sake of posterity.
Duchess of Friday Newsposts and the holy Top Ten
Have a comic milestone, a community project or some comic-related news you’d like to see in
a newspost? Send it to me via PQ or at hippievannews(at)gmail.com!
Anubis at 9:15PM, Feb. 2, 2014
(online)
posts: 100
joined: 12-29-2006
Thanks for that Ozone.. and now I have a new background too!
Genejoke at 3:28AM, Feb. 7, 2014
(online)
posts: 3,063
joined: 4-9-2010
Once again I'm unable to upload pages
Amelius at 2:14PM, Feb. 7, 2014
(online)
posts: 251
joined: 1-15-2006
Sooo… my comic is doing the internal server error thing again that was happening last time? I'm rather curious why it does that just to CTV…


ozoneocean at 1:41AM, Feb. 8, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
It's because it's popular, simple as that I'm afraid. :(
There's a memory leak (or some such thing), it causes one of the processes to use too many system resources and that gets worse over time.
I just have to get JNP or Jamey Sharpe to clear out the memory cache and things clear up.
I will ask now.
 
ozoneocean at 1:50AM, Feb. 8, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
not just popularity though- maybe it's the size of the archive?
When this happens I get that internal server error when I try to look at my PQs. I've never deleted any so I have a LOT. It takes an age to load them even when the system is working.
 
ozoneocean at 11:11PM, Feb. 8, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
That should be fixed now!
 
Abt_Nihil at 6:29AM, Feb. 13, 2014
(offline)
posts: 1,231
joined: 8-7-2007
Everything on the site is loading extremely sloooowwwwlyyy, I get an internal server error when trying to access my PQs and can't upload pages :/
 
EDIT: Basically the moment I posted this, the site sped up and I was able to upload pages. Hmmmm. Still getting an error when trying to access PQs though.
last edited on Feb. 13, 2014 6:53AM
Genejoke at 7:09AM, Feb. 13, 2014
(online)
posts: 3,063
joined: 4-9-2010
I manage t upload a page on lite bites with ease, but Lore…  I cannot.
ozoneocean at 7:38AM, Feb. 13, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
I've asked JNP and Jamey Sharp to clear the memory cache thingo again. I've noticed problems in the admin area as well- the dreaded 500 internal server error.
 
hyperactive comics at 9:58PM, Feb. 15, 2014
(online)
posts: 13
joined: 10-21-2006
I am still having the issue of whenever I post anew page it replaces the previous 4 or 5 pages. If I try to upload multiple pages only the last one uploads but it still replaces older pages causing me to have multiple pages of the same upload. This has been happening since the first of the year.

Kevin
HippieVan at 8:57AM, Feb. 16, 2014
(online)
posts: 2,409
joined: 3-15-2008
@hyperactive comics: Are you making sure that each page has a different file name?
Duchess of Friday Newsposts and the holy Top Ten
Have a comic milestone, a community project or some comic-related news you’d like to see in
a newspost? Send it to me via PQ or at hippievannews(at)gmail.com!
ozoneocean at 10:03AM, Feb. 16, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
There is an issue with comic pages (the image files you upload) when they have the same file names as ones that have been previously uploaded. The way you may be able to get around this bug is by making sure each page you upload has a unique file name, i.e.:
Chapter6-page5, chapter6-page7 etc. or comic-page1-12-27-2013, comic-page2-01-03-2014 and so on.
 
Basically whatever scheme that results in unique file names. :)
 
I hope that works out!
 
hyperactive comics at 10:21AM, Feb. 16, 2014
(online)
posts: 13
joined: 10-21-2006
I always name each page by whatever page number it is: page 1, page 2 etc..I will try to change it up by adding the date. Thanks!Kevin
last edited on Feb. 16, 2014 10:23AM
hyperactive comics at 10:28AM, Feb. 16, 2014
(online)
posts: 13
joined: 10-21-2006
It didn't work. I tried naming it page 443-2-16-14 and it still replaced 8 pages back in the archives. The newest page is the same page from 436-443!

Kevin
ozoneocean at 7:09PM, Feb. 16, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
That's shit man! Tonight when I get home and on to editingt the latest Quackcast I will go through and try and test out your comic archive, test upload and see what's what.
 
ozoneocean at 12:36AM, Feb. 17, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
Hyperactive comics!
Sorry, you've misunderstood both Hippievan and I:
You retitled you comic pages “page such and such” we actually meant the .jpg files that you upload. It is THEY who need the unique titles.
 
Currently all your comic images are called "image.jpg
What you need to do is ive them unique file names like ”Page-445.jpg"
 
Do you see what I mean now? I'm sorry I was unlear before. Go back to giving your comic pages their usual titles, it's the image files you upload that need unique names :)
 
Genejoke at 12:53AM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 3,063
joined: 4-9-2010
I have the upload issue again, this time on equivocate.
ozoneocean at 1:34AM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
Upload issue? You mean you can't upload?
 
Ok, either we have a memory cache thing again or it's that fucking leacher mass downloading people's comics and overloading our server again. -_-
I will see what I can do about the former, nothing I can personally do about the latter though, only Jamey Sharp can deal with that and he's not responding to emails.
 
ozoneocean at 1:54AM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
I rebooted the site and things seem to be working. Try it now :)
 
Amelius at 11:38AM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 251
joined: 1-15-2006
Heh, your rebooting fixed my comic! It was down again but I was beginning to feel like a nuisance complaining about it… („•﹏•„)
 
Buh…. crap we gotsta get that stuff fixed! Large archives and audience are supposed to be a good thing! I'm more inclined of course to think that it's the archives than my hits, I can't imagine I'm getting many hits here… most people should be reading on my main site and I haven't even recovered the 80% of readers I lost thanks to the crash last year.  Θ︵Θ
I wish there was something I could do, I kinda hate how even in community hands it still feels like we're treading water… I dunno, are there any plans being made I just haven't heard of yet? Some fundraiser or something? Aaaaanything?  („ʘ﹏ʘ„)
HippieVan at 11:47AM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 2,409
joined: 3-15-2008
Amelius wrote:
Heh, your rebooting fixed my comic! It was down again but I was beginning to feel like a nuisance complaining about it… („•﹏•„)
 
Buh…. crap we gotsta get that stuff fixed! Large archives and audience are supposed to be a good thing! I'm more inclined of course to think that it's the archives than my hits, I can't imagine I'm getting many hits here… most people should be reading on my main site and I haven't even recovered the 80% of readers I lost thanks to the crash last year.  Θ︵Θ
I wish there was something I could do, I kinda hate how even in community hands it still feels like we're treading water… I dunno, are there any plans being made I just haven't heard of yet? Some fundraiser or something? Aaaaanything?  („ʘ﹏ʘ„)
 
I think we're planning on doing a kickstarter at some point to hire a programmer and get rid of some of the major problems. We haven't really talked about a timeframe for that, though.
Duchess of Friday Newsposts and the holy Top Ten
Have a comic milestone, a community project or some comic-related news you’d like to see in
a newspost? Send it to me via PQ or at hippievannews(at)gmail.com!
ozoneocean at 6:25PM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
We're stalled on getting a formal contract drawn up, and all the legal stuff organised.
We had a DD member onboard who is an expert on those matters but when it came down to it he went silent.
So… I'm going to have to do the contract myself, based on the notes I have earlier from discussions with Trantor and maybe pay someone to straighten it out.
It's daunting though.
 
When we have a legal contract in place with Wowio then we can move on with everything else.
 
ozoneocean at 9:55PM, Feb. 19, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
Things seem to be slow again. I'll do another reboot when I get home.
 
Genejoke at 11:11PM, Feb. 27, 2014
(online)
posts: 3,063
joined: 4-9-2010
That upload thing… it's happening again sadly.
ozoneocean at 4:41AM, Feb. 28, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
Reboting now.
 
Szyszka666 at 7:03AM, March 2, 2014
(online)
posts: 7
joined: 12-29-2012
Hey I have this problem with navigation buttons on Rettubia… It's like images from image locker do not show. I had to set the default ones because those from my image locker stopped working… And the image from the subpage is also not showing.
The images from the image locker have the old path (drunkduck.com), could that be the problem?
Thanks in advance for help! It's not a very urgent thing though :) 
ozoneocean at 7:53AM, March 2, 2014
(online)
posts: 24,965
joined: 1-2-2004
Szyszka666 wrote:
Hey I have this problem with navigation buttons on Rettubia… It's like images from image locker do not show. I had to set the default ones because those from my image locker stopped working… And the image from the subpage is also not showing.
The images from the image locker have the old path (drunkduck.com), could that be the problem?
Thanks in advance for help! It's not a very urgent thing though :) 
 
It's a bug to do with the change of URL. This is the work around:
 
Open up the layout mode and edit the image links.
Take out the "http://“ and replace it with ”https://s3.amazonaws.com/" at the begining of the image links.
If you want to update the images you can use an external service like photobucket.
 
Genejoke at 1:15PM, March 3, 2014
(online)
posts: 3,063
joined: 4-9-2010
a different update bug.  On lite bites, when I preload pages with future dates…  they don't show as updated on that date.  it's been updating every few days but shows last updated as feb 21st so people aren't seeing it has updated.

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved