Purgatory Tower

PT's History and Fun Facts! (Kind of.)
silentkitty at 10:22AM, June 24, 2007
(offline)
PT is actually based on a story that I started writing about 14 years ago, for a school assignment. The assignment was just to write a short fantasy story, and the original was about five pages long, and involved three characters - Aisha, Cai, and Margensen - breaking into some random evil overlord's castle and stealing some important artifact or another from him. I don't really remember it that clearly, lol.

From there, I just kind of took it on my own and started writing a longer story based on Aisha, because I really liked her character. This story was titled “The Wildlords”, and spanned about fifteen chapters before I graduated from high school and just stopped working on it. I say that PT is “based on” this story, because it still has most of the same characters, but so many things have changed that it's really hardly even the same story anymore:

-> The story took place almost entirely in a city, not a tower.

-> The marsul were separated into two groups, which I actually can't remember the names for, but one group was humanoid (like the designs are now), and one group was more animalistic (think Bugs Bunny). This division was the main cause of strife in the original story, but has since been dropped and all the designs were changed to humanoid.

-> The marsul were not called “marsul”, but instead, as the title suggests, “wildlords”.

-> Aisha was suckered into joining a rebel group by her friend after returning from being in jail for several years (for theft). This rebel group was fighting against an evil dictator goat man named Tarlom, who had forcefully taken over their city in the time that Aisha was absent.