Purgatory Tower

What made you do this?
silentkitty at 7:12PM, Feb. 6, 2007
(offline)
Hey Ian! =D

Hmm, what made me do this. Well, there's three main reasons.

1 - This is actually a story that I wrote in high school and I always wanted to do something with. Obviously what I wrote back then was pretty rough and unpolished (and not in comic format) but I liked it all the same. =p I finally feel like I'm at a level where I can tell the story the way I wanted to tell it to the public.

2 - I've been working on another webcomic for about four years now with another person, but I have extremely little creative control over anything from start to finish. So I guess my main motivations for starting Purgatory at this point in my life were two things: I wanted to see if I could do everything - writing, drawing, coloring, lettering - myself (and I really needed a break from being told what to draw and how to draw it, honestly. I realise it's part of having a job, but being a creative person, it's hard to not be in creative control).

3 - The last reason was just that I neded some practice with the things that I don't usually get to do in the comic process - writing, coloring, and lettering. =p Just doing the 13 pages I have up, I feel like I've gotten much more comfortable with all three things, so it's working out well for me.

=)
last edited on July 18, 2011 10:31AM
silentkitty at 6:18PM, Feb. 7, 2007
(offline)
Oh! It's called Farlight Saga, you can find it at farlightsaga.com. =) Forgot to mention that, lol.
silentkitty at 12:09PM, Feb. 8, 2007
(offline)
Yep, right now I'm working on both at the same time - Purgatory is pretty much done in small doses in the middle of the night after I've gotten home from my other job (I also work night shifts in a copy center, ugh). =)