Notes From Wonderland

The first foray -
reboundcomic at 10:49PM, Feb. 9, 2007
(online)

So I was intrigued by this whole bloggy/forum things and thought I'd give it a test drive. What a better first topic than ME?!?! (Don't answer that)

Well, I am a 33-year old journalist who grew up wanting to draw and write comics. Even when attending I just assumed that is what I would do. I did a daily strip called Slacker Life http://www.drunkduck.com/Slacker_Life for a few years in the Arizona Daily Wildcat, the student newspaper for the University of Arizona.

You can read some of those old strips on DrunkDuck: http://www.drunkduck.com/Slacker_Life

I have been drawing since my mom would first let me hold a pencil and fell in love with comics when a crazy aunt bought me a stack of comic for Christmas when she could afford nothing else. To me at age three or four it was an awesome gift and I was an avid collector until the mid-90’s when the hobby became to expensive. I still occasionally pick up the odd graphic novel or beat up copy at used bookstores.

I was a bit older when I fell in love with the daily newspaper strip. Peanuts and Garfield were the first I gravitated to, but by the time I was in high school I was enthralled with Bloom County, the Far Side and Calvin and Hobbes.

Today I still love newspaper strips but have also fully embraced web comics, mostly because of the edginess afforded on the Web.

I am also a writer. Professionally I am a journalist, but I have written two movie screenplays and have a novel about ½ way finished.

Biggest Influences – Cartoons
Berke Breathed – Bloom County really clicked on the light for me. The art, the story telling. I see a huge influence in my story telling.
Gary Trudeau – I read a collection of his Yale college strips that really influenced me. I see a lot of his work in what I did on Slacker Life
Bill Watterson - Calvin and Hobbes is the finest comic strip ever in my opinion.