Discussion

Opinions about the contest so far
Locoma at 1:38PM, May 24, 2007
(offline)
I think you're doing fine with all the organization and rules for the beauty Pageant. This is my first time in a webcomic “competition” and I'm having fun, no matter which character has most of the votes. The 1 week marging gave me time to finish my page and people who liked my entry has already visited my comic without any trouble at all. I appreciate that. I know DD forums are limited in functionality but for now I think you have managed to actually run it fine. Sure, if this gets really popular you will have lots of headaches counting the votes and making it run smoothly.

Concerning “fanbase” issue, you can't avoid that. Fightsplosion, Sketchbattle, every competition site has that issue. I think that giving more than one vote that can't be used on the same entry helps to fight that. I don't like the idea of ranking the votes though, that doesn't help. But all in all I think Beauty Pageant has served its purpose so far. I've found new comics thanks to it.

Be patient and cooperative, that's all. You got a problem, propose a solution.
last edited on July 18, 2011 10:26AM
suzi at 4:42PM, May 24, 2007
(online)
I have two problems, but only one of them can really be solved: PMing votes instead of having them visible to all. Everyone is subconsciously affected by the ability to see who's in the lead; you might not vote for your very first choice if you see that someone that you liked only marginally less happens to have more votes already.

PLEASE change them to PMing like in Fightsplosion, it's SUCH a better system. *begs*