Harkovast- Art

What is the "look" of Harkovast?
harkovast at 7:18AM, Jan. 18, 2009
(online)
I noticed one of the recent reviews of Harkovast on the DD forums for harkovast commented on its unique art style.
I thought this was an interesting observation that deserved further comment.
Harkovast does not look like manga or anime and does not look much like Marvel or DC comic book art, so where does this odd art style come from?

Basically it is a product of my complete lack of formal training.
When I was young I used to draw lots of stocky figures fighting each other and when I decided to draw a web comic, I just drew it in the only style I've ever been able to draw anything in.
I ran into a bit of a problem because until I started drawing Harkovast I had never drawn animals before so that took a bit of practice.
I also purposefully gave all the charactes bigger eyes then I used to draw in order to make them look a lot more expressive (though compared to most manga I am sure their eyes look tiny).
But basically these characters are just an extension of the figures I've been drawing my whole life.

For more Harkovast related goings on, go to the Harkovast Forum
last edited on July 18, 2011 10:18AM
Wordweaver_three at 12:59PM, Jan. 21, 2009
(online)
What exactly are stocking figures? Is that a figure without any detail to the arms and legs, maybe minus hands and feet? Like the Powerpuff Girls?

I admire the Harkovast style. I can't go through the pages and say to myself: “this looks like ” It “looks” like Harkovast. That alone makes it worthwhile. The fact that your story and setting is so staggeringly complex and well thought out makes it top of my faves. Putting expressions on animal faces must be difficult, and the Nymus must be particularly aggravating in that department with their beaks.
harkovast at 1:38PM, Jan. 21, 2009
(online)
Sorry! stocking was meant to read stocky, I just fixed it. I draw stocky figures!