Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Need Advice on my Art
xMegalynx at 3:06PM, Aug. 3, 2011
(offline)
OK. So I've been drawing since I was 5. I mostly draw horses and people. I'm good if I have a picture in front of me to help. But recently I've been trying to do comics…and it just isn't working for me. I'm the type that REALLY needs a figure or something to work off of because for some reason I can't draw from the top of my head—AND I have a problem with drawing too much detail. I'm REALLY frustrated and stressed right now because I REALLY want to do comics, but they just aren't really coming together for me. I have a book (I'm a writer also) that I'm wanting to make into a comic can't find anyone to illustrate it for me, so I've decided to try illustrating it myself.
ANYWAY—please give me any tips you have. I have NO idea why I can draw a freaking horse, but not comic characters.

And this is what I can draw normally:
ep1 at 11:31PM, Aug. 3, 2011
(online)
Sounds like your mind isn't trained for visualization but is focused on putting details together to form a big picture. When you first started out drawing comics, you need to draw from inspiration. If you're too focused on getting things right, you won't be enjoying at creating comics in the long run.

To create a comic, you need to visualize the overall picture instead of looking at details. Don't worry too much about getting the drawings to look good or right. Every comic artists starts with imperfect drawings and eventually develops his or her drawing skills better. There's no magic in doing comics. The only magic you get is improvement through constant practice.
last edited on Aug. 3, 2011 11:33PM
xMegalynx at 7:10AM, Aug. 4, 2011
(offline)
ep1 wrote: