Comic Talk, Tips and Tricks

Traditional media, inking surface recommendation
freefall_drift at 11:57AM, Nov. 30, 2011
(online)
I was gifted a set of technical pens the other day. They are old, from the 1980s, never been used. from 0.18 to 1.20.  After 20 years of doing digital rendering, I want to try some art on paper with ink.  I don't trust myself to ink well on the first pass.  I have gotten used to the Undo button.  I'd like to draw on paper and then ink on something transparent? Translucent? What ever I do it on, then scan that in.
Anyway, when I go down to the art store, what would you recommend I ask for, to ink on, that I can see through to see my pencils below?
Freefall Drift - A sci fi space opera of a starship's mission of stopping the Endless Kings.
Tabasco at 9:38PM, Nov. 30, 2011
(online)
Often you need a more heavier paper for using inks. Because lighter paper can bleed. I'm no expert but they usually have test trips for some of the paper.
And maybe instead of buying really expensive paper you can use a light table…
Air Raid Robertson at 8:18AM, Dec. 1, 2011
(online)
I often use watercolor paper for heavier inking. Of course, I then tend to use watercolor paint on it afterwards, so that might not work for you.

Generally, it's best to lean towards heavier paper stock or even canvas. Most brands of paper at the art supplies store will indicate if its meant for pen & ink. You can always ask a member of the staff to help you out as well. 
last edited on Dec. 1, 2011 8:20AM
ozoneocean at 7:06PM, Dec. 1, 2011
(online)
I'd ask the advice of the people in the art shop, unlike most other sorts of shops normally there's someone there who actually knows about what they're selling!
Also, ask for samples of different papers if you can, that way you can experiment and find out what's best for you, rather than buying a bundle of stuff that might all turn out to be wrong for what you want.

ShadowsMyst at 3:20PM, Dec. 2, 2011
(online)