Comic Talk and General Discussion *

Discussion on future tech and society - Saturday Sandbox June 9th, 2018!
sunseeker25 at 2:22PM, June 9, 2018
(offline)
Here's the topic for today - please share your thoughts in a comment!

I would probably want a cloned one that is like my original, but it might depend on the situation. If by then I had a really good reason for wanting a bionic one I might do that instead. Good reasons could include: I might still be at risk of losing it again (and bionic limbs are tougher) or, possibly, I might need the benefits that a bionic limb would have over a cloned one. I'm not particularly interested in super-strength, but I don't really know what the future will hold. The key for me though, is if I don't have a real NEED for a bionic limb, I'm not going to go that route.
Ozoneocean at 3:04AM, June 10, 2018
(online)
Depends which is better and what you need it for.

If I'm a soldier in a future war and a bionic arm is very strong and allows me to defend myself better, has integrated weapons or shielding etc then I'll take that thanks!
It'll help me to protect my good arm ;)

Also, if I'm just a normal civilian and the bionic arm is going to last longer than me and it has all the sensation and fine control (or more control) of a real arm then I'll go for that.

If the bionic arm is just unfeeling metal without the fine control and has software bugs and needs repairs and tuning and causes weird aches and pains then give me a nice clone arm instead.
bravo1102 at 3:32AM, June 10, 2018
(offline)
Could also be a question of what your insurance covers. When I got my cataract surgery they give you all new lenses in the eyes. But only some are covered by insurance and only some surgical procedures are covered. Laser cataract surgery and repair of astigmatism was not covered.

So my new bionic eyes put me from 20/400 to 20/40. Huge difference but I could have gotten more for the few thousand dollars that I just don't have.