Interviews

Aelwyn interviews dueeast of Due East and Off Hours!
skoolmunkee at 3:48PM, Dec. 12, 2010
(offline)
This interview is of dueeast, who co-creates Due East and pretty much runs Off Hours!
(interview conducted by Aelwyn!)

1. Before we start on your comics; tell me a little bit about you, the creator.

I’m 41 years old and I’ve been writing and drawing comics since I was 10 years old. I’ve been married to my best friend (who happens to be African-American as well as part Apache) since 1995. We’re both musicians, singers and songwriters. We’ve been part of a nondenominational Christian band since 1998. And we have two sons, aged 15 and 12, and we are expecting a child in May 2011. I get paid to be a tech geek.

2. Allen, you and your wife have certainly created a charming story with Due East; what was the inspiration behind the webcomic?

For over 20 years, I wrote and drew superhero comics, usually one superhero team in particular that I created from scratch. But I brought that comic to a close in 2001 and wanted to create a comic with my wife, Angel. I’d had the initial idea for Due East in 1999 but it took until 2003 for us to flesh out the characters, their looks, story elements and initial script.

In September 1995, my wife converted to Christianity; I converted in January 1996. So when I wanted to write the new comic with Angel, I wanted it to be inspired by our faith and beliefs. At the same time, we had seen so many bad examples of “Christian” comics, we wanted to take a more subtle approach that still conveyed a clear message.

3. Reading your work, it becomes very clear how real and human the characters are. Would you say any of the characters are a reflection of yourself or the people around you?