Interviews

Creator Interview: Fugli of View of Venus!
skoolmunkee at 2:53AM, Nov. 13, 2007
(offline)
Username: fugli
Comic: View of Venus
In what part of the world do you live: Nor Cal
Are you single/boyfriend/girlfriend/married: Married
Day job: Commercial art

Tell us what View of Venus is about.

Well, it's a story as old as time itself. A Pretty woman gets fed up working small jobs in a small town and decides to set up web cams all around her house and live 24/7 (actually, she takes Sundays off) under the leering eyes of well-off, older executive types who paid to watch her prance about in risqu�© situations. Shenanigans ensue! Basically, if you wanted to boil it down, it's a story about selling sex without the sex. O.k., I'm confused now- and I do the damn comic!

Where did you pick up your sense of design? Are you a professional artist, or have any previous comic or art experience?

I am a professional commercial artist, but I have no comic art experience. Maybe that explains why some viewers comment on the style as being “Different” or “Unusual” or “Crappy” or “Stink Poop On A Stinky Stick”. I actually pick up (i.e.: rip-off!) a lot of ideas from other comics on the site. There is a plethora of great styles of art and writing on Drunk Duck and it is a great place for inspiration (i.e.: ripping-off!).

Who or what are your artistic and comic-making influences?

I like the classics. I love Will Eisner. Sure it's old as hell, but the layout and storytelling are still incredible.

You manage to bring a lot of things together in your comic - each page is a tight little well-polished package. How much of your comic in general have you planned out?