Interviews

group 12 - Kroatz interviews ministrybase of Ministry!
skoolmunkee at 3:38PM, April 18, 2010
(offline)
This interview is of ministrybase, whose comics are: Ministry and others!
(interview conducted by Kroatz!)

Hi, I'm Kroatz and with me today is Ministrybase, better known as Lara Phillips, Lara is the artist and writer of Ministry. A dark comic that combines horror, the military and some high amount of experimental shots.

1 - First of all, tell us a bit about yourself.

Well, I’m a graphic design lecturer at Style Design College and an avid horror fan. I also collect cats – my husband’s always complaining that I can’t pass an abandoned kitten without giving it a home :)

2 - Ministry has been on the way for a long time now, do you have a set date in your mind for the final page? In other words, when will you be done?

Ministry is actually also a print comic so the pages have been complete for a while. I wanted to use Drunk Duck to bring it to a larger audience. I want as many people as possible to be able to enjoy the story. Hopefully the next 4 pages will be up in the next week or so. After that, I’ll run a series of side stories featuring Ministry characters while I work on Chapter 2 and 3.

3 - What is your zombie back-up plan?

Heh, how did you know I have one? Well, sometimes living in SA with our dodgy municipalities and violent crime is not so different from a zombie apocalypse. I mean, our areas’ lights and water supply are often suspended due to poor government maintenance. I already have a water tank, gas stove, canned food, a good gun and a blue belt in Brazilian Jui Jitsu. So I’m pretty prepared if the dead rise.

4 - Some pages in Ministry are black and White, some of the earlier pages have greytones. The style in the comic varies, have you ever considered using color? Or coloring your pages afterwards? And why?