Interviews

Group 9 - Lilac interviews Aivilo of Animosity Sonata!
skoolmunkee at 3:51AM, Aug. 20, 2009
(offline)
This interview is of Aivilo, whose comic is: Animosity Sonata!
(interview conducted by Lilac!)

1) Howdy-diddly-doo there! To get things rolling, why don't you tell your adoring fans a little bit about yourself. :3

Hello everyone! Well my name is Olivia Smith. I am currently 20 years old and I live in Northern California (near San Francisco, kinda) I am an artist and I am working my way through college to become an animator or illustrator.

2) Your screename, ‘Aivilo’, is very interesting. How'd you come about that name, if you don't mind sharing?

Sure I don't mind sharing! I'm bad at creating screen names so I created “Aivilo“. Which is my name, “Olivia” backwards :p.

3) What art styles/artists have inspired you in your work and your comic, ‘Animosity Sonata’?

Anime style inspired me to as far as my art goes. I've been liking anime since I was like, psh 6 or 7. Maybe even before that but I just didn't know what the name was. And also I liked looking at old vintage photos so that also gave me an idea of the setting and the clothes. As far as artists, my most favorite is actually an animator named Hayao Miyazaki. And the artists from CLAMP. It was a while ago when I thought of Animosity Sonata, so I can't quite remember what other artists I was into at the time XD.

4) I've noticed that you seem to have a ‘deck of playing cards’ theme as the main focal point of the plot. How did this come about? Are you a major card player?

lol I'm not a major card player, I wish I was better at it and knew how to play more card games XD. Hmmm. I was always into jokers because I liked their outfits. And while I was developing the Big Joker, I guess I thought why not make the whole Spades kingdom my way as well? So I did :D and I blended it in with the other notes I had.