Interviews

QWTD: jgib99 interviews Warpedwenger!
lucky7s76 at 8:08AM, June 26, 2008
(offline)
The following interview was conducted by our own jgib99!

Username: Warpedwenger
Comic(s): Wakon Yosai, Sammy the Skunk

Tell everyone out there in Drunk Duck Land a little bit about yourself.

Well I'm 26 year old male human. I live in Knoxville TN and my day job is at UPS where I lift boxes all day. I have a cute little grey kitty named Nermal, I'm a huge Nintendo fan, and I'm a pacifist… Of course you wouldn't know that from my ultra-violent comic!

So, tell me, what made you want to enter this crazy madcap world of webcomics?

I'll do pretty much anything to get some exposure I take my cartooning career very seriously! As long as I can remember all I ever wanted to be was a cartoonist. Actually (singing)I want to be the very best like no one ever was…

Tell us a little bit about your comics.

Both my sense of humor and my artsyle are very unusual. It's my understanding that there are no new stories to tell. Everything is cliche. The only thing you can do is put your own spin on something so I create stories that are highly stylized.

What influenced you to make Wakon Yosai?

The characters in Wakon Yosai are very personal to me I spent many years developing them. It's my only ongoing series but it's set up in six chapter story arcs so it's never to difficult to jump right in. Alot of people who draw OEL manga try to do it just like the Japanese would… Then they look at Wakon Yosai and say that it's not manga. I say they're wasting their time making a generic version of something that is already readily available. I wanted to create a true style of OEL. You can look at Korean comics and know right away that's Manhwa.

Which one of your characters from your comics is your personal favorite?