KISS 4K Webcomic: Feedback

How the KISS 4K Webcomic comes together
Adam Black at 8:47AM, Sept. 5, 2007
(offline)
andykiss4ever asked this question in the comments of today's webcomic page:

andykiss4ever
At some point will you let us all know what your working method is and how long each stage takes to do i.e. layout, pencils, inks, colours. How big are your original pages before they're prepared for upload?

I'm an artist before I'm a writer, so I usually sit down and sketch out all 13 (sometimes 12) pages of the webcomic in little thumbnails, thinking about it as I go. Then I open up Notepad and write down all the dialogue I heard in my head while I was making those thumbnails. And now the comic is written and “storyboarded”. This usually takes the better part of a day, as I really take my time on it, and like to let the story brew in my head as I'm working on it. After that, I start cranking out pages.

I work with 2-ply bristol board, sized 11“x14”. The art itself takes up a space about 8“x12”, which is a little small for me–you can see me struggling with it way back in May, when I got started. I'm used to working on 11“x17” bristol, with the art taking up 10“x15”, but my scanner can't handle art that size. I need a new scanner.

Anyway, I pencil and ink it, then scan it in at 600 dpi, black and white. I have to scan it in in two pieces (top and bottom) and join them together. Again: small scanner. Pencilling and inking takes about three or four hours, depending on the page, and how much stuff I have to put into it.

I delete all the white of the page, but save the inks, so that the inks sit on their own transparent layer, then reduce it to 400dpi and convert it to RGB color. I put a layer under the inks layer, and color on that. I'm told that most comic book colorists set the inks layer to Multiply and color right on the inks, but I've never been comfortable with that. I just like to color behind the inks. Seems easier for me.