Behind the Shades

Writing 101
DAJB at 11:55PM, Feb. 24, 2008
(online)
One or two people have sent me PQ's asking for tips on writing. As flattering as this is, I'd hesitate to give any firm advice to anyone else because (a) I am by no means a professional writer (which means my opinions on writing are no more valid than anyone else's) and (b) I already know for a fact that a lot of people don't agree with some of my views, particularly with regard to writing for comics!

Anyway, for anyone who's interested, here are a few tips based on how I write. I don't claim they're the right techniques for you or anyone else but, if you'd like to give one, some or all of them a try, please do. You can thank me when you're a millionaire!

1. Start by working up a detailed character sheet for each of the main characters. Who they are, what they like/dislike, how they came to be what they are, who their parents were, what they can do that makes them different, how they came by those abilities, etc etc. This “backstory” information may or may not make it into the comic (much of it probably won't) but it can help with dialogue if it's always there in the back of your mind.

Note on these character sheets the key events that happen to the characters in the story. This means updating it and changing it as you go along but, if you're working on a long story, it helps with continuity/consistency.

2. Have a draft of the story, including the ending, before you begin writing the script. Knowing what's going to happen at the end and how the characters are going to get there will help to keep the story headed in the right direction. If you're working on a long story, break it down into several chapters or issues. Have the overall story in outline form but map out the key events in each chapter/issue in detail before starting work on the script for that part.