Holon Forum

Production Diary
Abt_Nihil at 10:28AM, Aug. 9, 2010
(offline)
I tend to quickly forget the circumstances under which I create my comics, so I'm using this thread to remind myself… and to share a bit of background info with you.

I'll try not to post any spoilers here, but if you don't like stories being demystified (by finding out that the author's just human, basically - a fact about me which I'm not good at hiding anyway), then this thread is obviously not for you.
last edited on July 18, 2011 10:14AM
Abt_Nihil at 4:19PM, Aug. 12, 2010
(offline)
The primary motivation for creating Holon was the fact that the comic I'd been working on previously, signifikat, was coming to an end. I knew that whatever comic I would do next would have to take its place in some way.

My main reason for doing signifikat was to have a spontaneous outlet for ideas which I couldn't incorporate into my other comics. So, my first thought was that the next comic should fulfill that same function. However, it turns out that signifikat had indeed already fulfilled that role in a more finite sense. And so I was free to do something that was a bit more restrictive by being better constructed from the get-go, thus sacrificing some of the spontaneity. It seems signifikat had indeed been therapeutic. The main point - doing something which I couldn'd do with my other comics - still applies to Holon though.

I don't remember how the initial concept came together (should have written that down sooner, eh?) - some of the core concepts must have come to me while I was working on the final chapters (probably the final two) of signifikat, and fused into a more or less coherent whole over some weeks. I do remember some of the specific motivations for coming up with these concepts (since these do still very much apply), but they are as abstract as they are personal, and I won't divulge them here.